Sky Diving in Poconovs


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
August 22nd 2009
Published: September 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Jumping out of a plane at 10,000 ft, a free fall of 15 seconds and then gliding down with a parachute watching the panoramic views ! Ever since I got to know about Tandem jump(A jump for the first timer harnessed to an experienced guy who does all that needs to be done to stay alive), it was sitting at the top of my "To do before die list"
There are a few sky-diving schools near Indiana (where I lived in US), but paying 300 bucks for jumping to panoramic views of endless acres of corn-fields is not exactly charming. The nearest option was Chicago. But then suddenly a friend in New York (a newly converted outdoor enthusiast) showed interest. I was heading to New York anyways. So we planned a trip with sky-diving over Poconos mountains followed by hiking in Catskills.

We rented a car. After some minor skirmishes over the timing at which my co-pilot with the i-phone gps will warn me of a turn ahead, we hit the road. At the gas station, the attendant came to us asking "kitna daalu bhaiya". 'Welcome to Jersey' quipped my friend. After a couple of hours drive, we reached the Sky diving center. It was very cloudy. The management told us they need atleast a 5 mile patch of clear sky to go ahead. I waited impatiently. Back in India, you have to be in army to sky-dive. So that was not going to happen. But the clouds did not budge. So disappointed, we headed to Catskill mountains with a plan to return back the next day on our way back to New-York city. Next day early morning we hiked to Slide peak, the highest in Catskills with all of its 4000 ft. Except for the clear, crisp mountain air and foggy weather nothing was worth mentioning. Getting back to the parking lot, a major discussion ensued on which way was the nearest to the sky-diving center. And with no consensus, I, being the only driver, got my way and drove to the center.

The weather was clear ! First, we were showed a video where a stony-eyed, detached old man (who was the head of the sky-diver's association) with a foot long beard explained that although they have taken all efforts to ensure our safety, you should be crazy to do something like this. Then we signed a dozen documents saying that if we die jumping, we won't sue. A board read, If you don't pull it off the first time then sky-diving is not for you. We prayed ! The video cost us a bomb ! 120 bucks ! But since it was a once in the lifetime experience, we signed up. Clever guys !

We dressed into our suits and headed to the open super-cessna plane. The instructor assigned to me was a jolly guy. In winters he went to Hawaii to sky-dive and in summers, he worked in New-York. I was a little concerned with his weight which I thought was in the above 200 pounds category. I remember that bearded guy and prayed he really meant what he said about good sturdy parachutes. The cameraman sort of started talking some stuff and recording. It was my first video ever and I came out as sheepish as I can. We Indians really do sound very funny. You realize it only when you see yourself on a TV ! Now I know what Russel Peters means.

The cessna started gaining some height. After every couple of thousands of feet, the cameraman announced the height. 2000 ft, 4000 ft, 6000 ft and finally 10000 ft. Above the clouds ! My heart pounding at a record, incredible rate.
The instructor asked whether I was ready. I had butterflies in my stomach but did not have much of a choice.
I was harnessed to him and he seemed very eager to jump. The cameraman climbed up on the door. And then all three of us jumped together. What followed for next 15-20 seconds is literally a blur. A free fall ! My cheeks and the skin on fore-hands flapped like a window curtain. I felt my ear-drums crushing against the rapid pressure change. My throat dried up. My lips were parched. And I was shouting ! I was throwing my hands and feet in the air ! I did not know how to react. It is one thing to know the impact and completely other thing to feel it. It was crazy! A mad adrenaline rush! After the free fall, the instructor finally opened the parachute and slowed us down. We glided down. I looked around for a magnificent view of mountains. We landed safely on the ground with gushing wind in my hair and a whistling sound in my ears. Out of the world experience ! One more strike off the "to do list before die"

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb