Lake Placid, NY


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
September 14th 2010
Published: September 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Lake Placid Olympis CtrLake Placid Olympis CtrLake Placid Olympis Ctr

Here is the sign outside the Olympic Arena.
Sorry that I haven't blogged in a while but I haven't been feeling that great. I guess with the change in the weather my arthritis flared up in my shoulder and I was miserable there for a few days. I have rebounded though and am back to my old self. We hit some rainy weather (what's new) in Lake Placid which was really a shame because I think there would have been some neat stuff to see there. We were also there during the middle of the week and since it is after Labor Day things are only open on the weekends which meant we couldn't tour anything anyway but we did drive by the Olympic arena where the men's hockey team won the Gold Medal in 1980. Too bad we weren't able to go inside but hey, what are you gonna do right? At least I got a picture from the outside. We could also see the the ski jumps from a distance which was cool. The picture didn't come out so I am not even going to bother posting it. Like I said, the weather was very rainy and cold while we were there. Three days worth if you
Olympic CtrOlympic CtrOlympic Ctr

This is the outside of the Olympic Center where the ice rinks are. Ice hockey is very big in this area. I really wish we could have gone inside to get a peek. Maybe next time (HA!)
can believe it. We even got a trace of snow. I took a picture of that too. The Lake Placid area is very tiny. It is hard to believe that they held the Olympics there, TWICE! I can't imagine where the people stayed. There aren't many hotels or houses there to put people up in. We stayed at a KOA and they had a Canine Park and I tell you we could hardly keep Karlie out of it. She ran and played for hours. They had a deflated basketball tied to a rope hanging from a tree that she would play with. We are thinking we will put one of these in our backyard for her so that maybe it will keep her entertained and then she won't tear up anything else. One can dream can't they? We stayed 3 days in Lake Placid so I could recoup. I started to feel better when we left on Thursday. Headed to Vermont from here. Getting closer to Maine...... 😊K


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Lake Placid Skating RinkLake Placid Skating Rink
Lake Placid Skating Rink

Contrary to what you may think, this is not the Olympic Arena it is the high school. The skating arena is located just in front of this building though which is the cement you see between the grass. This is where they did the speed skating events. They still do events here every winter. There is also a rink on the inside of the track and that is where they do ice skating. In 1928 they held the competition outside but in 1980 they moved it indoors.
snow in NYsnow in NY
snow in NY

See the snow on the side of the road? This was our first taste of the year. Hopefully we won't get much more of this before we get home.
Snow in NY 1Snow in NY 1
Snow in NY 1

Not much I know but I had to show you that there was some. Should we get the chains out?


20th September 2010

chains
Don it is looking bad you should get out and chain up HaHa, like the pictures good job, Birds are starting show up it opened yesterday,drive careful.

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb