New York New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
July 13th 2007
Published: July 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey All,

Am racing against the clock here so apologies if it seems a bit blotchey! Got into New York on Weds at about 1pm - flight was good - got a seat with loads of leg room and despite my worries of the baggage mine was one of the first to go round on the conveyer belt! - *Relief*.. Got a taxi from the airport which took nearly as long as the flight over here as we battled our way through New York traffic - was also a bit unsetlling as the driver was Russian and didnt seem to know where we were going although eventually he got me here in one piece so I was happy! Checked in to my room - had a massive king size bed and big TV and headed to the nearest bar I could find which happened to be a sports bar so I could catch up with my NFL news!- When I got out of the bar guess what - it was raining - so I had travelled those 1000s of miles and I got the same weather luck! Anyway slept for about 12 hours and then the next day I headed into NEw York - via public transport! The subway system while unsetlling at first is pretty much similar to London so I picked it up pretty quickly! This day I visited Times Square (too busy for my liking!), Battery Park and Statue of Liberty (I took this excellent ferry which took me all around on the Hudson River!) and Ground Zero .. That was pretty much all I could do this as I didnt get out till late. Anyway visited a bar again in the evening and had another relatively early night as my body clock still wasnt quite right.. Today I headed out early (well 10ish!) and headed to the Rockefeller Centre to start with (not much to talk about here - its where the NBC studios are based and is a pretty tall building!!), then I went to Central Park which was fantastic - I sat there basking in the sun and thought it was fantastic - its soo big too! Then I went to the Natural History museum which was good to start with but after a couple of hours my legs and brain couldnt take anymore so I had to retire back to Times Sq. to get some food and check out some shops! Havent met any of my fellow travellers yet but will be up early tomorrow as this is where the trek starts! Yay! Off To Washington DC to meet the president and start the camping! Anyway I gotta dash now as I'm down to 2 minutes left - Hope you are all doing well!! Bye for now x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb