1 Month check in


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Watertown
September 4th 2022
Published: September 4th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Corn and beans, corn and beans....Corn and beans, corn and beans....Corn and beans, corn and beans....

For days this is all I saw.
It is officially been one month since I left home in North Plains, Oregon. August 5th, 2022 I closed up our home, shut off the water, drained the pipes, cancelled the internet blah blah blah. I drove to Seattle to drop don off with a group of his friends and just like a snap of the fingers, he was gone. I sat in the parking lot for while wondering what in the hell am I doing???? After a small panic attack I headed East, and I haven't stopped yet. So here is my one month check in. Granted the first day - first week - was off to a bit of a rough start. The very first campground, on the first day, I arranged to stay at a State Park in Washington and it was closed due to a wildfire. Great, this is how it's going to start? (That was my attitude then, not now)

Each day I have overcome obstacles, fears, and unknown territories. Typically people such as myself crave consistency and patterns. Change can be fearful. The problem with living like that for too long is the days are predictable and seem to fly by so quickly. Add
My plant as I entered WiconsinMy plant as I entered WiconsinMy plant as I entered Wiconsin

Typical daily view for me once I got away from corn and beans.
some change into the routine and things become interesting, the days get drawn out, time is no longer flying by as quickly. The book "To Shake the Sleeping Self" by Jedidiah Jenkins was recommended to me by a fellow camper I met in John Day, OR. I have been loving this read! Basically it's about a 30 year old man riding his bicycle from California to Patagonia. He describes what I am feeling very well. I highly suggest this book.

I have included a description to each of the attached photos so you get an understanding of some of the challenges and successes I have come across. Of course I want to post the sunny days, beautiful hikes, and big smiles. If that was all I posted, it wouldn't be a fair understanding of my days or my trip in general. There are times of boredom, frustration, tiredness, hunger, and of course loneliness. The further into my ttrip I go, the better I am able to deal with these issues. I am finding ways to entertain myself, choosing which battles I want to fight and the most important thing...I don't beat myself up when something doesn't go as planned.
MealtimeMealtimeMealtime

Typically I have fruit, oatmeal and coffee for breakfast then salad or sandwich for dinner. If I hiked a lot, worked out at a gym, or something, I might have cheese, crackers, and meat for a mid day snack. Plus I might go to the extra trouble of making couscous, instant mashed potatoes, or a freeze dried meal kit.
I didn't make a mistake. I didn't do it wrong. It just didn't go the way I expected. I will try something different next time. This change of attitude with myself as relieved some anxiety and released some pressure I was putting on myself.

In Christ, I am never alone.

Michelle


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

CLOSED?!?!?!?!?CLOSED?!?!?!?!?
CLOSED?!?!?!?!?

My first campsite closed due to a wildfire. I just parked in front of the sign and stared at it for a few minutes. Willing it to change. It didn't work. I found another site in a nearby town that worked out fine. This was my first lesson in being flexible and expect the unexpected.
Typical day!Typical day!
Typical day!

This is me on a typical day this first month. Racking up the miles. My "dresser" is in the net hammock on the ceiling/roof. My insulated window coverings are layered and rolled up behind me, easy to grab and set up. I am always sure to stop frequently, take small walks, stretch, and deep breathe.
Yoga studioYoga studio
Yoga studio

There is always time to relax. At the military bases there are usually gyms. This one in SD had a great yoga studio and only 2 classes per week. Which meant the space was usually available for me to practice by myself. Such a great treat.
Blowing kissesBlowing kisses
Blowing kisses

No, not to you! To Don. We are doing our best to keep in contact via phone calls. Sending pictures back and forth. We will be together again soon. Until then, we keep sending silly pics back and forth.
Fried Corn WTH?Fried Corn WTH?
Fried Corn WTH?

Yes! A road stop treat for myself. I stopped at a travel stop for a souvenir sticker and the restaurant offered fried corn. Shoot...I've been living off of salad and oatmeal, bring it on. So sweet and delicious.
Mackinaw Bridge, MichiganMackinaw Bridge, Michigan
Mackinaw Bridge, Michigan

I was literally screaming as I drove over this bridge. The toll is $4, the view is supposed to be amazing but as you can see I was in thick clouds and rain. It started when I entered the state the day before and didn't have any plans on stopping soon. The right lane of the bridge was concrete/pavement but the left lane was metal grate. There was large equipment that I had to drive around and was forced onto the metal...in the rain...I screamed! It didn't make the situation any better but it was a good release for me at the moment.
Rochester, NY skyline???Rochester, NY skyline???
Rochester, NY skyline???

I think this was Rochester, NY. I know I was trying to get to Niagara Falls, I was being cheap and avoiding tolls (they really add up out here). The down part was that the alternative road sends the driver through large cities. AUGH, whatever it costs, I'll pay it! It was too late.
Chautauqua GorgeChautauqua Gorge
Chautauqua Gorge

Hiking a trail at a dispersed campground in Chautauqua State Park, NY. Large campsites, lots of trees, hiking trails, and it's FREE. What I didn't mention before is there was a man & woman couple who were having a dispute from midnight to 4 a.m. I laid in my car listening to these two yell profanities, slam doors, honk the horn, for 4 hours. I wanted to leave but I am in the middle of nowhere in the dark. It was horrible. When I packed up the next morning to leave...I was not quiet.
Directionally challengedDirectionally challenged
Directionally challenged

I rely on Don to tell me which way is home or to the car when we are out and about. While on my own during this trip I have to set up ques to remind me which was is out.
Directionally challengedDirectionally challenged
Directionally challenged

See how it can be confusing? The trails at Chautauqua Gorge were very nice. It appears as though they were all recently cleaned and cleared of debris. That doesn't stop me from getting lost though.
New designNew design
New design

During the heat I was struggling because my car tent can't always fit in the sites. Laying in my car I was sweating and very uncomfortable. I bought this new screen cover and shipped it to my Aunt's and picked it up from there. Now I am in the rain and it still works great! I don't always need the big tent for a quick overnighter. That is when I can use this smaller version with plenty of fresh air. I even made a little clothes line under it to dry off my coat from the Niagara Falls trip.
Screen cover and rain tarpScreen cover and rain tarp
Screen cover and rain tarp

Here is a far away view so you can get a better concept.
Unpredictable weatherUnpredictable weather
Unpredictable weather

One week I am complaining about the heat and buying a screen door for my car, the next week I am water logged. I am a sun seeker so being in the NE with lower temps, scattered rain showers and muggy air, is not fun. I want to be here to see the fall colors in the foliage. It is supposed to be breathtaking beautiful so I will endure the crappy weather for the beautiful scenery.
No showers at a campground???No showers at a campground???
No showers at a campground???

Where there's a will (stinky body) there's a way. Since one of my campgrounds didn't have a shower, I made my own! I used the handicap bathroom stall, hung my solar shower, my towel, & toiletry bag and made my own shower. The water was cold, straight from the tap and there is no hot water here. I wore my flip flops of course and was able to wash up before bed just fine.
This or...This or...
This or...

There are two sinks with mirrors in the campground restroom. One makes me look overly short and round. I saw myself and was shocked! So I looked in the next mirror over the other sink.
ThatThat
That

Hmmmmm, not bad Chelle! Look'n good! Now the question stands. Did the second mirror cause an overly tall skinny look or is this just a normal mirror? Since when did they put funny mirrors in camp restrooms anyhow? I no longer use the left sink. Right sink only at this location.


5th September 2022

trip
what a trip you are having!!!!
10th September 2022

Thank you!!
Thanks Bob! I am having an amazing time. This is the perfect tripfor me. I am doing and learning so much.
10th September 2022

Thank you!!
Thanks Bob! I am having an amazing time. This is the perfect tripfor me. I am doing and learning so much.
12th September 2022

As always
Hi my friend. Love the month log. My hat is off to you. Even younger I could not do this. U Rock.

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb