My First Trip to China -- Forty Years in the Making


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Rye
April 11th 2013
Published: April 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I've wanted to visit the People's Republic of China ever since I played Chairman Mao in the Great World Debate staged by my sixth grade class in 1972. (I can still remember hand rolling 72 egg rolls to serve the class with my Mom and friend Seth Swirsky. It was an amazing experience -- thanks to my teachers Marion Greif and Bill Toto.)

Forty years later I'm finally taking that trip thanks to an invitation to speak at a conference in Beijing on Corporate Social Responsibility and Cause Marketing .

I've traveled to many countries in my 53 years (Bahamas, Barbados, Canada, Belgium, Belize, Denmark, Dominican Republic, England, France, Germany, Guadeloupe, Holland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland and Venezuela - have I forgotten any?), but I believe that none hold a candle to China in terms of "foreignness." I find that exciting and a little scary.

Fortunately, I've got a more experienced travel companion to help me make the most of my seven days in Beijing and Shanghai. Chris Noble and I have gotten to know each other a bit over the last decade through our shared involvement with cause marketing (he's the co-founder of The CauseMedia Group), but have never spent more than a long lunch together. A serial entrepreneur, he is also a co-founder of Affinity China , a private network that provides unique luxury, travel and lifestyle opportunities to its Chinese members. I called him for advice when I was invited to speak and in a flash we had arranged for him to join the conference faculty and to buddy up on the road to China. (Hope and Crosby -- watch out.)

This evening is dedicated to packing, tying up loose ends -- thanks so much to the Cause Marketing Forum team for giving me the freedom to take this adventure -- and getting some sleep. I hear that the 13-hour flight and time change can make Day 1 in China a rough one!

Advertisement



12th April 2013

Johnny had some Mandarin for you.
xī wàng nǐ lǚ tú yú kuài。希望你旅途愉快。Johnny told me to tell you that. "Hope you have a nice trip!"
17th April 2013

Tell Johnny I say
Xie, xie!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb