You can't go home again?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
May 23rd 2005
Published: May 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

I haven't been home in almost two years and now calling it "home" feels funny. I have to say it's really nice to be at mom's house after so much time away. It's been great seeing so many friends. It sucks not having time to see everyone. New York is completelly different of course, I left in 2001 so I'm like a pre-9/11 New Yorker. The city is very different now. Everything is much more expensive but I did come here with Euros so I take advantadge of the Dollar being so low.
New York is crazy and I see alot of things I don't like here. People seem completely preocupied with things I don't care so much about anymore so there's a little rift between me and everyone, specially my family. I hate to say it but everyone seems brain-washed to me. How do they get everyone to care and be afraid of things that in every other place on earth is a joke? Why is everything so out of whack here? Maybe it's the super sensationalist media. Maybe it's the government. Maybe it's just me. But one thing is for sure: Yall don't really get the stories, don't get the truth, and it amazes me how little people here know about what's going on in the world.

In a week I go back to Rome, we think about staying put till August and then traveling to the south of Italy. Maybe Puglia, maybe the heel of the boot. I am thinking about all the festivals that are going on there in August and how much money we are going to make with our beautiful artesanato, not to mention the fire dancing. But before all that, let us enjoy Rome for another two months.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb