The Empire State Building at night a view to die for ....and the best place in New York..well spotted Mike!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
August 29th 2013
Published: August 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

JM & M have retired for the night and I'm just going to finish my cup of hot sweet tea.. that's what they give you for shock isn't it?... I could have done with that an hour ago but we will come to that later..

Tonight was awesome. We took a cab to ELLEN"S STARDUST DINER...remember that name as it is a fantastic little place and for me the highlight of the places we have been to. It's a place Mike had found as a recommended must see on the web somewhere. Basically t's a 1950 style diner next to the Mama Mia Theatre show where the waiting staff are professional singers waiting tables whist waiting for an opportunity to make it big on Broadway. They serve the food and take it in turns to belt out numbers from the shows, they are all brilliant singers and you get to enjoy a meal (Martin said his steak was better than the expensive steak house the night before)... i loved it and it was free! I could have stayed all night and had desert and coffee to eek out the time to watch more singers.

We eventually left and decided we would go to the top of The Empire State Building to experience the city lights a night. It can't be that bad I did 69 floors yesterday and was sort of ok... Hardly any queues yet again Mike had placed us in the right place at the right time, got in the lift and ascended..80 bloody floors.. no better than that just when you think you are in touching distance of the clouds they take you up 6 more..86 floors..80 bloody 6...

As we got out and started to read the information boards I sort of knew I was going to have a problem. I was convinced the building was moving and my balance wasn't right i kept feeling the need to step backwards as if I was falling, it was a horrible sensation and Mike had felt a similar feeling and thought it was from the rapid ascent in the lift. We stepped out onto the viewing platform and it was like nothing I had ever experienced before.. four walls to walk around each with the most awesome view.. the night sky, a slight breeze and a million lights twinkled from the landscape below... It was magical, there is no denying that... but for me a little overwhelming at first. I felt very uneasy but was determined not to be a wuss... Martin was a Saint and held me close the whole time as he knew I was struggling a bit. We walked the whole way round and I tried hard to look out.. the walls were at different heights staggered from chest height to waist height then knee height..All had wired mesh above them so you were safely ensconsed but with the lower walls you could almost look down and see the road right below.. I looked over clutching the wire mesh and that was the turning point which became my step too far. I felt physically sick and giddy and had an overpowering feeling of being really really scared. At that point I made aright tit of myself and sobbed..I can't explain why other than I had an adrenaline overload and started to panic. JMM were brilliant and came down with me the lift was so much easier coming down., and we were back in a cab before I knew it and I felt so much better. Enough panic for one day and although I wanted to stay on my laptop for a bit I am convinced I can hear a mouse in the cavity wall and am getting out of this room before I lose it completely.....tomorrows plan is a picnic in Central Park! Night all xx I had some videos of the acts tonight but can only upload from you tube and am not sure of the copyright rules so none her atm




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb