And on Monday....it's sunny New york....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
October 22nd 2012
Published: October 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

There are this places that we love to come back...and come back...I name cities like San Francisco, London, and obvioulsy high on everybody list, New York.



So as my connections back home were not obvious...and I needed those qualifying miles to keep that frequent flyer card which gives you access to the lounges and not many questions asked about too many kilos in your bags....I simply did a little by-pass trip to the Big Apple, landing at 8am, leaving at 10pm. Bear in mind, this was after two nights spent in planes....so I had to make sure I could survive the day. I have to admit, I'm not 20 years old anymore...but I can still manage few funny trips. After this, the people of "Amazing Race" may look like pure amateurs...



Original plan was to go back to the Metropolitan, than ride a bus uptown to the top of Manhattan through Harlem to pay another visit to one of my prefered place in NY, the Cloisters...but....as there is always a but, was not a bad idea to check which day the Met (a week before I arrived) is off....and...it was a Monday....so on for plan B. I started with the Guggenheim. There is something fascinating about this Museum, is that they change collections few times per year...some are cool....some are more on the amazing side. Today was more on the amazing side, with Picasso Black and White. I've been fortunate enough to visit the impressive Picasso museum in Paris, so this was like act 2 for me....and yes, I did learn many things.



I than made my way to my prefered avenue, I name Madison Avenue. No shopping today, as the sales are not yet on...I won't change! But an opportunity to do some scouting on what will be in sales by the end of the year. And put it simply, you can tour the shopping opportunities of Buenos Aires in less than two hours, so it was fun to have a rather better range here.



Next stop, the Oyster Bar and Restaurant in Grand Central. The place is always busy and fun....not as fun as the Swan Oyster Depot in SF though! Here, it's scallop time with a little sauvignon blanc for lunch before heading back on the road.



Than by 2pm, it hit me....not much sleep the last 48 hours...I had to find something simple and relaxing to do...jump on a bus to downtown, than the Staten Island boat for some fresh air...and no walking! It was already time to meet my buddy Scott in midtown for our usual drink together in NY...before heading for me to JFK to catch my flight back home.



Note about American Airlines...it's pretty rare I find something nice about the airline....it just brings me from A to B...but hey, they have complementary Hendrick's Gin in their JFK lounge....not bad...not bad...



I've been back home to sunny Buenos Aires since Tuesday morning. Running a lot and enjoying the fun that Leslie and Tiffany continue to have in Argentina. Well, I say sunny, because it seems that when I was away, they had two weeks of rain...not fun...



Next trip coming pretty soon, business first (well, all this with the friends and hitting few white balls)....before heading south for few sharks....hopefully a huge amount of them! Coming soon...well...actually not that soon...and next april, back to the Big Apple...


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



26th October 2012

les huitres...
Là où passe un huître... PA passe aussi !

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb