Malibu....in between flights...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Malibu
October 21st 2012
Published: October 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

That's what I call a very long Sunday...very long...



I spent the last two weeks running all over Asia with stops in Hong Kong, Shanghai, Saigon and Bangkok. And if you are asking, yes it was business oriented...and indeed, I don't blog on those days...I had a lot of meetings...saw many friends...had way too many lunches and dinners....and after dinner parties...and did the full shopping list to bring back to home. Left home with a bag of 20kg, coming back with double that amount...you find a lot in Argentina....but there are way too many things we simply don't find in Buenos Aires!



I'm not a big fan of sitting on planes for 28 hours in a row..or more...did it, will do it again next April...but not this time. Today, I'm on for another "fun" marathon. It's going to be three nights in a row in planes....and no bed access from Sunday morning Bangkok time, till back at home on Tuesday....trust me, by Tuesday night, I'll be dead. And it won't stop me to play some golf on Wednesday morning....



The first leg from Bangkok to LAX went pretty well. I had to wake up at 5am in Bangkok, made my way to the airport...little one hour stop in Seoul, and I landed just before lunch time in LAX.



I'm not a big fan of Los Angeles. I've stopped over here tens of time....big theme parks...done...shopping on Rodeo Drive...done...my wardrobe being full...and mainly in a container or in suitcases spreaded all over the world, shopping for clothes is actually my last priority of the moment. Getty Museum, done...Santa Monica, done...so what's next....well....even if I've done it before, I love to drive a little Mustang around....and on an iconic road, even better!



So I simply made my way first to Santa Monica, than up the Pacific Coast on the iconic Highway 1. I simply love that drive. I drove to Ventura, taking my time...and than back-tracked, back to LAX, all this taking me a full afternoon with few stops.



On the way in, my first stop was at Duke's in the middle of Malibu. This place is a local institution and was indeed packed for Sunday lunch. I sat at the bar, a good way to chit-chat with few locals and few visitors. Duke's is hawaiian theme....and yes, I had pretty good ahi tuna tacos....only three hours after my last full meal on the plane! No cocktails or fun drinks here...I'm driving and in between flights...so better be safe than sorry...



I would be ready to move tomorrow to Malibu, but I guess this simply won't happen. So I drove around and baked in the sun with my open roof and blasting music...fun...fun it is always around here!



Tomorrow should be a sunny day too....but this time, hitting the pavement....with picasso, some more seafood, drinks with a friend...and trust me, tomorrow night, I'll be dead!



As you can see, there are thousands of ways to spend a Sunday afternoon....how do we say....yes...it's a small world...



With love from Malibu!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



22nd October 2012

prices
cheaper than in Argentina!!!! wow, yes.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb