Day 58 - Boston to New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
November 8th 2011
Published: November 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This was it. Time to head to the last place on my itinerary; New York City. My expectations were high.

I ended up having to take the megabus this time, since my greyhound bus pass wouldn't allow me on the express service. No biggie.

I already felt amazing just approaching New York. I could see the cityscape in the distance. And I knew this would be the last place I visit before leaving the country, so I knew I had to appreciate it as much as I could.

When I got here, it was pretty warm. Unusual for this time of the year. But I made it to my hostel after taking a series of subway trains. I got familiar with the system. It was like the London tubes, fun to navigate, like a puzzle.

After checking in, I ran some errands then headed back towards downtown. It was dark by the time I got to Times Square. There wasn't going to be much I could do today, but I made it count at Madame Tussauds. It was really fun. I got several people to take pictures of me in front of a few celebrity wax figures, including Miley Cyrus, Taylor Swift and Lady Gaga.

After my delightful visit here, I headed back into Times Square and took the time to look around and appreciate it. I took a moment to think to myself and where I was. I was in New York City, and I was happy. This place was already amazing. Expectations were met. I'm going to make sure that my visit here counts. And counts a lot.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0901s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb