THE LAST FAREWELL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
January 15th 2008
Published: January 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

boullionboullionboullion

Tradition lsays hot beef buillion at 11 AM
THE LAST FAREWELL

Like all passenger ship nuts, I’ve been on this QE2 trip for a reason. The ship has been sold to the government of Dubai for delivery in November to become a hotel/conference center and tourist sight. Most of her 2008 sailings are on wait list, so those of us who believe a ship has a soul must find a time and place to say goodbye. Yes, I could have waited to wave goodbye when she leaves Port Everglades on April 10th for the last time, but sailing aboard for 10 days has been far more satisfying. In service since 1969 and the first liner I ever sailed aboard, the ship has spanned my entire working life….and then some. How well I remember that my first day at my first steamship company job was boarding this ship in 1971 in Boston.

The last 2 days has seen the weather get gradually warmer and the seas calmer. There has been a whole new group of people replacing those who debarked in New York. I’ve met quite a few who are going “all the way around” and for many of those this is their first cruise. How many of you would undertake a 106 day trip around the world for your first cruise?

Lots of picture taking now. Wondering how I’m going to manage to pack all the stuff I’ve borrowed from Stuart and bought in the logo shop and maritime bookstore. Where am I going to put the mugs, shirts and menus?

Today, we had an enrichment lecture about a return to the spying games of the Cold War. Entertainment has been singers and comedians…..dancers and musicions. Remember the Coasters? They were on stage on Monday night. The harpist and pianist are always playing in the Chart Room and the Golden Lion Pub. Matter of fact, today, I had cottage pie for lunch in the Pub. The food has been excellent throughout the trip and I’ve probably gained a few pounds, so I’ll relish tonight’s multi-course dinner in the Caronia Restaurant..

So this will be last blog of this journey. We’ll be tied up at Pier 21 at Port Everglades by 7 AM tomorrow and this nostalgic trip will be over. So, I’ll be singing the song: “There’s a ship that lies rigged and ready in the Harbor…..tomorrow for ole England she sails, far away to the lands of endless sunshine to the land full of raining skies and gales…..tho my heart be full of tears and sad farewells”. It is indeed a Last Farewell !!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

midships lobbymidships lobby
midships lobby

gonna hate to leave


Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 41; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb