Are you a leftie or a rightie? Plus a Dance Concert and an adventure in Central Park!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
June 8th 2015
Published: June 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Carl Schurz Park rules Carl Schurz Park rules Carl Schurz Park rules

Dogs are allowed but in designated dog areas.
A leftie or a rightie? That was the question Rupert asked me (not the one with political intent!) before he tried to teach me a new game which he ended up playing with Grandpa. Meanwhile, with Kerrii gone for her "Tour de Brooklyn" bike ride (which incidentally was 40 kms and NOT 40 miles as I originally reported) I went for a wander down to Carl Schurz Park with its winding, shady paths, green lawns, waterfront views, basketball courts, large playground for children, and two dog runs. As I think I've mentioned on previous visits here, there are dogs everywhere in NYC so parks have to cater for them as well as people! It's a park which I really love and it's only about ten minutes walk from the apartment so it's a very handy spot to get a bit of peace and quiet when the mood takes. It was there that I bumped into Vanessa and Isabel which was a pleasant surprise. But I didn't have the opportunity to stay too long since Grace and I were heading to the 92Y for a dance concert.

92nd Steet Y - known as 92Y - is a Jewish cultural and community centre with a mission to inspire and educate. It's where Grace and Rupert have attended ballet classes and Grace had her original piano lessons just after they arrived in NYC. The facilities at 92Y include a performing arts centre, studio, after school sports and classes, a fitness centre and they offer summer camps. So, you name it and you can do it at the 92Y! Sunday 7 June at 12 noon the Harkness Dance Centre had their Annual Children's Dance Concert which was taking place at the Kaufmann Concert Hall there. As part of the concert Grace's friend Helena was performing a tap dance to Fats Waller's "All That Meat and No Potatoes" and Helena's mother Antonia bought Grace and I tickets to the concert. Many thanks Antonia; it was greatly appreciated! And congratulations to Helena and her sister Esther for their great dance moves!! Grace of course knew many of the others who performed in the concert which included ballet, tap and modern dance. It was a fantastic concert and great to see all those enthusiastic dancers performing.

Following the concert Grace and I walked up to Central Park where Grace got us lost after initially convincing me she knew where she was taking me! Having done many walks through Central Park myself I kept trying to convince her we were going the wrong way, all to no avail. But considering that Central Park covers an area of 843 acres, it's an easy place to get lost in! Luckily I had enough money to buy us an ice cream each as we found our way out of the joint!

When Kerrii eventually arrived back from her bike ride she was rather tired, a little stiff but happy! A bit of TLC and an early night was all that she needed.

When we were here last year I started to read "Rogues' Gallery: The secret Story of the Lust, Lies, Greed, and Betrayals that made the Metropilitan Museum of Art", one of the many books Kerrii and Seb had sitting on the bookshelf. I was delighted to find that the original bookmark I left in the book was still there so I've taken it up again although I don't imagine that I'll actually get to finish it...but I'll have a good try!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Central Park Great Lawn on a Sunday afternoon Central Park Great Lawn on a Sunday afternoon
Central Park Great Lawn on a Sunday afternoon

By this time we knew where we were!


9th June 2015

Grace with Grandma in Central Park reminded me of an occasion when Grace was with me looking for a shop she thought she knew. "Grace, are you sure you know the way?" "Trust me Nai Nai". Did I hear a (faint) "Trust me, Grandma." This is a standard joke between me and Grace!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb