NY theatre Trip part 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 24th 2012
Published: April 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Part 2!!!

Priscilla Queen of the Desert-- Feb 17 7:30pm
I love this movie! I love this movie! The show is like a 2½ hour dance party. They did some trimming of the plot for the musical, but really, it is not about the story. This show is just an excuse to put on a dress and dance to disco music. This is not to say that I did not have a good time and enjoy myself. I surely did. But this show is pretty much all style and not much substance. If you love the music and you want to party down, go see the show. If you really love the movie and are hoping for that same connection, you might be disappointed. The cast is gorgeous and talented (though I must say, Nick Adams really got on my nerves!), the music is funky and fun, the costumes deserved their Oscar and Tony Award and the bus is a technical marvel.

Carrie the Musical-- Feb 18 2pm.
This show was the ENTIRE reason for my trip. I have been obsessed with this show for over 20 years. I have been dying for it to be produced again. I had a fear it would never happen. But, it did! For that I have to give a resounding THANK YOU to Stafford Arima for getting the original writers together and have them re-visit their original show. Now, first things first, I have heard and seen the original show. I heard a recording of the 2009 Workshop they did with rewrites. I knew right off the bat that this show was going to be different than any of those productions. I was NOT disappointed in the least. This was a stunning show! I do commend them for not going the gory horror route with the story and instead making a story of today and the effects of school bullying. It is a very timely issue and one that needs to be addressed. Of course with this being Stephen King, there is bound to be some bloodshed along the way.
The show started with Sue being interrogated by 2 unseen people. This got me hooked right off the bat. This is just how the book was. I love the book. It was the first King book I read (I was 8 years old). Then the scene shifted to the beginning of the school day with all of the kids singing about their insecurities ("In," a song from the original, but extensively re-written and re-staged). I love the new lyrics, I love the new staging. No more horrible Gym Class togas! Plus it was nice to see the male ensemble get more to do in this show. Instead of gong through an entire synopsis of the show (which i really want to do), I will just point out some highlights.
Molly Ransom as Carrie was beautiful. Her acting was strong and her voice was powerful. When she gets mocked and made fun of, you really felt her pain. She held nothing back. Christy Altomare as Sue Snell had a much larger role than in the original. She almost acts as a Greek Chorus/Narrator. The scenes shift between the action of the story and Sue being interrogated. It was a wonderful device. I know some people felt that giving Sue the larger role almost made her the lead character and took the focus away from Carrie. I disagree. I think it added a stronger narrative to the story that was lacking in the previous productions. Plus she has a golden voice.
Carmen Cusak as Miss Gardner (In the book Miss Desjardain, in the original movie Miss Collins) was a nice change for the role. The original Miss Gardner, Darlene Love, was a little too much of a one-note-character. Ms Cusak gave the role depth and made it her own. I first saw her in the National Tour of South Pacific as Nellie, so I knew she had amazing vocal chords. She spoke the role with a slight southern accent and sang like an angel. Her version of Unsuspecting Hearts was soaring. Jeanna de Waal as Chris Hargenson was the epitome of a rich b***hy privileged girl who thinks she does nothing wrong. At times she was a little too much, but in all she was very effective. I love the new song they wrote for her character "The World According to Chris," though I do miss the song it replaced "Don't Waste the Moon."
Of course I had to save the best for last! That unstoppable, powerhouse that is known as Marin Mazzie! Before this, I thought the definition of Margaret White in the dictionary had a picture of Betty Buckley. Nuff said! But then I saw Marin's deeply moving portrayal of Margaret. She took a very different direction than Buckley did. Instead of playing up the fanatical religious crazy woman, she was a mother with strong beliefs who would do anything to shield her daughter from the evils of the world. Her rendition of "When There's No One" was an emotional high point. The way they had the spotlight on her and as the song progressed the spot kept getting smaller and smaller until it only illuminated her tear stained face was a genius choice. It tripled the emotion and punch of an already emotional song. The scenes between Carrie and Margaret are still some of the most powerful ever written for musical theatre. The new arrangement of "Open Your Heart" with full backing chorus was a nice introduction to the family unit (for lack of a better phrase). Each moment builds and builds until it snaps!
The sets design was a nice touch. With the simple wooden walls and the projections on the back wall, the were able to convey, a high school, the White's Living Room, Chris' bedroom and of course, the gymnasium for the famous Prom Scene. the scene I was most waiting for was the Destruction scene. I wanted to know what they were going to do for it. I was not disappointed. the projections and the effects were more than I hoped for. I was riveted to my seat for the entire thing.
I am sad that this show has closed, but I am so very happy that they recorded a Cast Album last week. I finally get to have an official album instead of the Soundboard bootlegs that I have had for years.

Shatner's World: We Just Live in It- Feb 18, 8pm
This was the last show on my whirlwind tour. I could not pass up the chance to see William Shatner live on stage. I am not a Star Trek fan. I did grow up watching TJ Hooker on TV. I am really glad I got to see it. It was a funny show. I do like 'one-person shows.' It gives the audience a chance to look into the lives of those we grow up seeing on TV and in movies. This show gave me all of that and more. Shatner is a very intelligent and talented man. Once in a lifetime chance that i am glad i got to do!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb