Theater Trip to NY


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 24th 2012
Published: April 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Here are some reviews from the shows I saw during my WHIRLWIND trip to New York in Feb.

Porgy & Bess- I was a little hesitant about seeing this one. I saw the Seattle Opera production of it last summer when my roommate was in it and I very difficult time staying awake. But, with a cast consisting of Audra MacDonald, Norm Lewis and David Allen Grier I was pretty excited. Plus with all of the 'controversy' surrounding the production, I had to see what the hype was about. So, I got into New York the morning of Feb 15 at 5:30am. The show was at 2pm. Got into the theatre and saw that Audra was out! Grrrr. So not cool. I was very disappointed. I should not have been. Her understudy was PHENOMENAL. Her acting was superb, her vocals were crisp and clear. Norm as Porgy was a little boring. Nice vocals and the way he contorted his leg was a nice touch. The biggest surprise for me was DAG as Sporting Life. He was perfect! His vocals were stunning, his acting was spot on and when he was onstage, he just commanded your attention. His version of "There's a Boat That's Leavin'" was the best I have heard. The set was very simplistic and I expected more. The set in Seattle was much more elaborate and really conveyed the poverty of Catfish Row.
The only real issue I had with the show was the trimmed down run time. They took a 4½ hour opera and turned it into a 2 hour musical. They cut out some of my favorite scenes. Where was the buzzard scene? I am glad they cut a lot of the unneeded reprises. But to get rid of entire scenes? All in all I am glad I saw it. But I do not think I need to see it again any time soon.


Silence! The Musical-- Feb 16 8pm.
I have been following this show for years! Ever since the original composer demo CD was posted on their website. I thought the premise was hilarious. A Parody Musical version of Silence of the Lambs? Really?! This show was a joy to behold. The writing is very smart, the songs are so funny, the actors are spot on impersonations of their characters. I have nothing bad to say about this show. It was a 90 minute show with no intermission. there was no need for one. The show clipped along at a very quick pace. From the opening strains of "Silence!" complete with a chorus of singing sheep, I was lost in the world they created.
Jenn Harris as Clarice is a true comedic genius. Her skills with 'playing it straight' mixed with her very subtle winks to the audience are things of musical comedy dreams. She impersonates the voice and mannerisms of Jodi Foster's Clarice so well. They are a little exaggerated, but not to the point of it being a total mockery. You believe she is in a life or death situation. Albeit a parodied comedic one... David Garrison as Hannibal Lecter was really good. His voice is beautiful. It was so heavenly that it sounded really wrong singing his first number (For those of you who know the show, you know what song, for those that do not, I cannot print the title here). There were a few times though during the song "Quid Pro Quo" that he did get a little off of the beat and rushed through some of his lyrics. Other than that he was flawless.
The remaining cast were all equally as good. Deidre Goodwin as Ardelia had a great song towards the end of the show and her comic timing again was stupendous. Annie Funke as Catherine Martin was funny as hell. Her voice was also top notch. As Buffalo Bill, Stephen Bienskie was a treat. Great voice, great acting chops, and fearless.
If you ever get the chance, you have to go see this show. It is a laugh a minute riot and one of the best pieces of musical theatre I have seen in a long time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb