New York Trip - Day 2 - Dec 22, 2011


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
December 22nd 2011
Published: January 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Charging BullCharging BullCharging Bull

The Charging Bull was first ilegally installed on Wall Street but was later moved by the police to just North of Boling Green Park.
New York – Day 2 – Thursday December 22 - Day 2 in New York was really a fantastic day filled with exceptional things to see. It was really great but wore me down to the nubs with all the walking and climbing stairs. I felt like I had gotten run over by the Charging bull time I got back to my hotel.

I got up early at 5 AM and wrote an email for the folks back home and sent it out and then I went downstairs and had a couple of cups of complementary coffee while taking my first look at the street outside. There was a convenience store right across the street which is open till midnight so that will come in handy. Around the corner on Columbus Avenue is a bigger store and Deli which I noticed had guys on bicycles which delivered orders to hotels etc.

About 50 yards from my Hotel was the Museum of Natural History.

I walked over to the Museum Of Natural History and around to its front and looked at it from the outside. I will save going in there for a bad weather day as I expect to spend quite a bit of time there.

Then I caught the M7 bus on Columbus Avenue and rode it down to Columbus Circle.

At Columbus Circle I sat in the middle and took in the view of Broadway and the Southwest corner of Central Park. From Columbus Circle I could have connected to several bus or subway routes but just relaxed and took in the view.

After a lengthy taking in the view at Columbus Circle I walked across the street to the Southwest corner of Central park and walked across about 2/3 of its width there. The weather was good and there were lots of people out.

After having a look at the South end of Central Park I caught the M5 bus and took it down 5th Avenue checking out the sights on the way and heading towards Battery Park and the Staten Island Ferry. I made sure to get on the North side of the Statin Island Ferry so I would get a good view of the Statue Of Liberty and Ellis Island. Ellis Island is where my mother came through when she first came to the USA from Ireland.

After taking the ferry across to Statin Island and back, I walked over to Castle Clinton (which is just an old fort) and checked on tickets to Ellis Island for tomorrow. Then I explored the Wall Street area.

I checked out Bowling Green Park. It had a menorah in the middle. There originally was a Lead statue of King George in this park but it was pulled down and made into bullets during the American Revolution.

Then I checked out the Charging Bull statue North of Bowling Green Park. This statue was first erected illegally on Wall Street and then moved to this location by the Police.

I then checked out Wall Street and the New York Stock exchange. They are separated from the the people by a very strong police presence, a barricade , an open area with police , a fence, and then more police….geez.

It wouldn’t surprise me if they didn’t have a couple of 50 calibers stuck up in there behind some of the windows.

After having a look at Wall Street I walked over and checked out Zoccotti Park (which was the site of the Occupy Wall Street protest) and Ground Zero. The park was surrounded by a very strong police presence and barricades with police spaced all around both outside and inside. They let me in through a heavily guarded entrance way (at least 10 uniformed officers). I went in and sat down and rested a bit while taking things in. Probably in one of the safest areas in America. It would take an armored brigade in full combat gear to get in without police permission.

After checking out Zuccotti Park I walked over to Ground Zero where a massive rebuilding effort is going on. I sat on a bench and watched it for a bit and rested my feet and legs which were getting wore out. I actually think it would be better to have converted the area to a public park and memorial; but commerce will have its way.

After viewing Ground Zero I walked up Broadway trying to find a station for the #1 train , but didn’t find one and at 50th street while I was resting my feet and was studying my map a New Yorker asked me where I was trying to go and when I told him Times Square he told me I was on the wrong street for the #1 train but I could take the N train to Times Square. So that’s what I did . Kind of stupid of me….I should have thought of that 20 blocks ago.

Times Square at night was extraordinary and I must say awesome. I spent a long time there stopping and taking it in at a table and chair in the center and then walking up some and stopping and doing the same again. Just plain awesome.

The street has been converted into a pedestrian area with tables and chairs.

One of the best free shows on Broadway.

After visiting Times Square for its length I was really wore out and so stopped at a pizza place for a couple of slices of Pizza and then got on the #1 train back to 79th street at Broadway. When I came up the stairs from the Subway and onto Broadway at 79th street I stopped and rested a bit. Then after a rest I trudged up the block and a half to my hotel room. I stopped at the little store by the hotel and rewarded myself a bit with some Haagen Daz chocolate ice cream ( at $6.00 a pint) and took it to my room to savor.

It had been a long but very enjoyable day and I had no trouble at all sleeping. so I partially opened the window and let the cool air in and slept soundly.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Zuccotti ParkZuccotti Park
Zuccotti Park

Zuccotti Park - Scene of Occupy Wall Street Protest
Clinton CastleClinton Castle
Clinton Castle

Clinton Castle is where you purchase tickets for the ferry to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty


5th January 2012

$29 for the subway pass is great.
I like the charging bull shot. Looks like you are having some nice sunny weather.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb