NYC: Day 1


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
August 24th 2010
Published: August 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

madison square garden, nycmadison square garden, nycmadison square garden, nyc

the night of my arrivial
Ohhhhhh man. I arrived at NYC Penn Station on the evening of the 23rd of August. I saw the the bright lights of the city as Cynthia and I stepped out on the streets for a minute to walk to the subway. En route to the Bronx, within 15 minutes of being in the city, I witnessed two rats. OH MY GAWD. It made me sick to my stomach. I was thinking, if I am seeing two right now, how many more will I see? Will I survive, or will I have a heart attack from being so scared?! Turns out I saw one more during my trip, but that's all (Yes, I am writing these entries after the actual trip-- the date of the entry corresponds with the date that I did the activities). The rest of the city was nice!

On the 24th, Cynthia and I started our day of tourism by going to the Brooklyn Bridge. It was beautiful. The wind was strong on the water, and the weather was cool because of the rainy day. If you ask me, it just made being on the bridge seem more powerful. You could see all parts of the
nyc at nightnyc at nightnyc at night

the night of my arrival
city, and everything seemed so big, yet so small at the same time.

The Bridge is near Chinatown and Little Italy, so we walked towards both. In Chinatown, we were constantly trying to be haggled into sales. "15 dollar, but 12 dollar just for you." The town smelled like fresh Chinese food which made me drool, especially after a long day of walking. Our plan, though, was not to eat in Chinatown, but in Little Italy. With my stomach having a protest, we made our way to Little Italy. Waiters stood outside each restaurant, pushing their menus into our hands, asking us to come inside. We decided to go to one when a waiter said he would make a custom pizza for me, even though it was not on the menu. Deliciozo! I made sure I didn't stuff myself silly because I had my mind set on ordering some gelato on the street when we finished. You bet I ordered it, and you bet it was tasty. It made me not mind so much that it was $4 for two little scoops. Hehe.

After Little Italy, we made our way to Times Square to see the blocks lit up at night. It was amazing to see all of the different colors and the enormity of the screens. But my favorite part about Times Square, and the whole part of the NYC trip for that matter, was the amount of international tourists. Everywhere we heard French, Italian, Spanish, German, etc. It was kind of funny that both Cynthia and I are from NY, and we were in the mix of these crowds. It made the whole tourist experience that much more interesting.


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb