Annual Aunt and Niece Outting


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
March 19th 2006
Published: March 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

LibertyLibertyLiberty

The statue as seen from Ellis Island
A few years back my lil pumpkinhead niece (Allyson, aka Alley cat) and I started an annual Aunt/Niece day...We go to NYC one day a year to spend time together...NYC--it's close and yet far enough from Philly that we can still get lost...lol. This year we decided to make stops at Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty --finally! (for me!) Seeing that I'm 28 years old and have resided about 90-100 miles of the damn thing and never once went to see it (up close anyway)...I suppose it's one of those things that if you don't see it on a class trip then you take advantage of being so close and say "oh one day i'll go" So, that one day came for me. It was pretty kool...probably more so cos Allyson was petrified of the ferry- that was amusing...she asked if there were sharks in the river... life can be more interesting when viewed vicariously as a child...I wouldn't say that NYC is the cradle of civilization (as some might have you believe) I try see it for what it is...an island filled to capacity, with some sort of pattern that if you go 8 blocks you will come
LibertyLibertyLiberty

As seen from Liberty Island
across much of the same thing over and over..(ok, in a way that's true, at least for damn McDonalds) but I must say it seems a whole lot bigger and a heck of a lot more interesting when I'm there with her. The buildings seem taller, people appear to walk faster, cars seem to be on homicidal missions...having a person half the height of everyone else is quite a challenge in manhattan...
Anyway I took a few photos of our trip and am posting them on here cos i considered our trip a mere 100 miles away quite an adventure.....we ran into some shady characters...particularly the 2 ladies having an odd conversation from one bathroom stall to another...in a manky park bathroom...(i think they may have lived in there)...and we sat in a nice restaurant only to leave cos my scatterbrain self left my ATM card back in philly so we didn't have enough money to eat there...and we walked 60+ blocks of which Allyson reminded me repeatedly how 'small her legs and muscles were' in relation to mine....Very cute I thought...What a trooper!
Anyway this is my most recent travel story. Not that entertaining but one of my favorite cos I got to spend time with my niece, who is growing up all too quickly...plus I gotta get the time in now before hanging with Aunty Roxy isn't kool...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Allyson and LibertyAllyson and Liberty
Allyson and Liberty

From the ferry
Allyson and LibertyAllyson and Liberty
Allyson and Liberty

on Liberty Island


20th March 2006

WOW!!!
Love this, please send it to Gene, it will make him as jealous as I am of your photography skills--beautiful stuff, and i'm not just saying that to be your friend ;)
21st March 2006

These photographs are phenomonal! I especially like "Ellis Island". The black and white effect really suits your subject matter.
21st March 2006

Hey! I was wondering if you were still around. NY is a cool place, I've been up there a couple times. Sounds like you had a blast. Call me! I might be in your neck of the woods soon.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb