"A house doesn't make a home..."


Advertisement
Published: July 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

That's what I'm singing...just cos I don't have a physical house doesn't mean I'm not 'home.' Yep, back in the good ol US of A crashing with me darling sis til I get settled. I arrived this past Sunday, (after much deliberation on the Ireland end of things).... was quite sad to say goodbye to such good people and such a magical place. I'll have to drown myself in a pint of stout soon...if anyone cares to join me....? Follow it up by one of joy to celebrate the good people of PHILLY! I have to say I did miss the people here....although no matter where I go I keep 'ya all' with me anyway.... I'll probably still write on here every now and again....maybe when I travel into the northeast or south philly or something....tell of my travels to those far and away places...or all the way over to jersey.lol. My tentative plan is to teach here this school year, or substitute--whichever...then perhaps head off to OZ...the land down under!!!! When the travel bug bites ya gotta keep itchin...it's the only cure. Who knows if I'll ever settle--in the traditional sense of the word....suppose I find it quite settling to keep moving....it keeps me alive, fresh, full of ideas and new experiences.....
Thanks to all of you who took the time to read these...cared about where I was and what I was doing (and to those of you who didn't---screw you...lol---oh, yea you won't even see that then..)....It's been quite a journey for me....one of self discovery as well as a tiny glimpse into another culture...into the lives of different people living in a different part of the world...suppose I was fortunate to come across some kool people (esp my roommates..and the girl, joanne's family)...gosh--to be a stranger in a strange land....makes ya see things in a different light...suppose that's why I've always loved to travel....I love taking multiple perspectives...maybe cos my life was rough as a child that I just knew back then that life wasn't the grim reality that I thought it was.....there are an infinite amount of human stories--some good, some bad...some of human passion, sacrifice, of getting lost and not knowing how to be found....I swear I'll never stop exploring that about people....ya come across some of the most beautiful people...whether they are next door or miles away....it's amazing how we all have some kind of
Baltimore - West CorkBaltimore - West CorkBaltimore - West Cork

yea, kind of like our Baltimore...he he, not really but it is a nice harbour town...
interconnectedness in the end....we all smile, hurt, cry, etc...and even the most spiritual of them all still feels the bond we all share....the driving force behind our simple human existence....to be happy! My experience of Ireland (besides the price of things...OUCH!) has left much happiness inside me, if not anything in my pocket or in the bank..ha ha.. but it is the happiness for which I am grateful.....
Can't wait to see everyone...reach me by e-mail if ya wanna get together soon.
lots of love
Roxy
a few photos - now that I'm back I have to confess I withheld some of the photos I think are better...purely cos I don't want to be robbed of my artistic vision....ha ha, but i might have them for sale in the near future....if ya know someone who knows someone who's cousin or something might want a photo of ireland....
kool.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

MOO MOO BEACHMOO MOO BEACH
MOO MOO BEACH

yes, a cow and a calf on the beach....now they aren't the sharpest creatures....sand grazing???
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
EEEEEEEE

you ask...why would she post such a horrible photo of her own self like that...? hm. there are much worse. ;) but das me in Baltimore (ireland)
Ruins on Sherkin Island-West CorkRuins on Sherkin Island-West Cork
Ruins on Sherkin Island-West Cork

You can take a ferry over from Baltimore to a couple of islands...they're really pretty and only a handful of people living on them! That's where I ran into COWS on the beach...wierd.
CaherdanielCaherdaniel
Caherdaniel

near here was a gorgeous, gorgeous beach...but it's the misty mountain top that caught my eye....


28th July 2005

Awesome photos!! I'd like to do a painting of the photo of Baltimore!! Anyway, glad you are back. Give me a ring. Nava
20th September 2005

waz up
yooo rox...we're glad to have you back here with the rest of the dysfunctional crew...we were lost without you.cant believe u are so smart love u
16th January 2006

Wonderful travels
roxy, have you considered perhaps writing for the travel channel? I would love to hear more of your stories....hopefully I can speak with you soon.... Billy
31st May 2006

Hope you had fun
Hi Roxy, I stumbled across your blog when I was looking for something else, but I'm from Cork city and would just like to say I'm glad you had a good time around here. You're welcome back any time. Nice photos...I've a bunch from a trip we took to Sherkin here if you wanna see (http://rennes.ucc.ie/~stephenf/photos/Sherkin_Island/index.html). You can ignore the daft ones! More random photos from me from around Cork here too (www.image-shop.com). you might spot some places you've been to. There's even a photo or 2 from Philly too! Slan Leat Steve

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb