The Eagle has landed!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
October 1st 2009
Published: October 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone

Well, let's go back a few days....to last Sunday to be precise. I went to Chew Magna and took Bet out for lunch to the Pony and Trap, we used to go there when Sarah was a little girl so that was about 33 years or more ago. The Sunday roast was the best I can remember having anywhere, it was to die for so I have booked to go again when Kate and I go up to Bristol for Christmas on 20th December.

Monday I visited Mike and Pat Lockett and Mike has kindly offered to pick me up from Temple Meads station on my return and take me to Whitchurch to pick up my car so I can drive straight home to Pz.

Tuesday afternoon I left Bet's and went to Gill's and on Wednesday morning Richard kindly took me to the bus station to catch the bus to Heathrow. I arrived in plenty of time at Terminal 5 which is now totally automated and although I used one of these automated things before, it threw me. Fortunately I got help. Then my one bag was 3Kg over the limit but I had put my laptop in my carry on bag to make it easier for me...I quickly took 3Kg out of the big bag and put it in my carry on bag leaving the laptop out. All was then well. After all these years someone had the sense to tell me that if I took my gold bracelets off, I could go straight through without being frisked...they were making such a fuss of this that they forgot to tell me to take my shoes off!

Once on the BA flight I was amazed to find that I probably had the best seat on the plane...I had upgraded from Cattle class to the next stage but my seat was No.28b which I would recommend to anyone. There was no 28a, I was beside the safety door and I had at least 7 feet in front of me and no one beside me! Across the aisle were 4 seats together with a family of 3 - screaming child and a man in his late 30s with very long legs! I felt sorry for him, he did have the bulkhead but it was only half the size of my area and I wasn't prepared to swap to sit with the noisy screaming child!!!

We arrived at JFK somewhat early, I flew through customs but once passed there I suddenly realised what I had let myself in for. Organising the trip was my forte but I had the sudden realisation that I had to get myself somehow to Manhattan E29th Street. I just couldn't do it...so I sat there with my favourite Starbucks Frappocinno (Is that how you spell it, I doubt it)...I stayed there for an hour, then I ventured outside. Unfortunately all the staff are as black as they make them and I couldn't understand a word that was being said...and they couldn't understand me! Eventually I started talking to an Australian girl and we were going in the same direction. I got off at Grand Central Station...but, by now it was dark and I hadn't a clue how to get to my destination...there was a queue at the taxi rank and then a young guy with a rickshaw came along, I told him he'd never cope with the weight of my luggage and me, he was from tajikistan learning English and he was the first person I understood. He told me he was learning English English and not American! He got me to my destination and Jo was here to great me.

Having been up at 6am, by the time I got to bed it was 2am UK time! A long day.

Jo has WiFi so I will hopefully tell you tomorrow what happened today. Thanks to those of you who have left messages for me.
Liz

Advertisement



1st October 2009

Eagle landing
Well, a small bobble at the end of your trip isn't so bad. I'm glad you had a good flight, it's always so nice when your seat is comfortable. Did you take the shuttle bus into Grand Central? All that technology to get you there and you end up in a rickshaw :0)) Looking forward to the next instalment. Text me! 1-905-320-8888
5th October 2009

And so the journey begins...
well done "eagle" - hopefully you are now adjusted to the right time zones. Carol
5th October 2009

Can't see your photos
do you know how????
10th October 2009

grannie will travel
wow liz you sound if you are having a lovley time,enjoy reading your diary best of luck wendy

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb