Take me out to the ball game....... (Dave)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
September 15th 2009
Published: September 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's been a long time between drinks you might say, since I have put in my two cents worth.
While Pen has been away (far and near), Good ol' Dave has stayed behind and made his worthy contribution to BamBam's long-overdue health care reform.

Mt. Sinai is really starting to challenge me with new techniques (I'm learning Mouse Handling this week) and self-discipline.
Work at the Australian keeps me honest. I worked the whole of the Labour Day Weekend a week ago (since all the Yanks were going away or having bbq's.
With Aussie Rules finals, Formula One, Aus v Eng Cricket, US Open, Tri-Nations and the start of Football season over here, there is pretty much a revolving door at the pub with one game/match/race finishing and the next one starting.
I just have to look in the tip jar behind the bar to put the rose back in my cheeks!

I have also had some friends pop their head in and keep my social life from going extinct.
About three weeks ago, my old workmate and good buddy Jana flew to Boston for a little work and came down to the Big Apple for a weekend. A night up on our old rooftop drinking wine and smoking cigars kicked off a whirlwind shopping and museum couple of days in NYC for Jana.

A week before that I had the chance to buy cheap tickets to an American football game when my team (the St.Louis Rams) (I started following them when Don Lane used to have his Tuesday night special on ABC) came to NY to play the Jets in the first week of pre-season games.
I took a buddy from the Australian along and lets just say that my passion for any sport that I follow hole-heartedly (Essendon, The Aussie Cricket Team, Socceroos etc etc) shined brightly again that night.
Luckily for us, the Rams got up and we escaped with our lives because everyone else had already gone home.

This last week has seen our new apartment have it's first guest - The wonderful, the delightful, Ms Sarah Andrews. Since Sarah had put so much effort into orchestrating (along with Pen) my Indian Cricket Surprise for my birthday last year, and knowing it was coming up, the idea of a trip to Yankee Stadium was floated for an early birthday prezzie for this year and of course was quickly accepted.
We were very close to seeing Derek Jeter (the Captain of the NYY) break the all-time Yankee record for hits (he did so the very next game) but it was a thrilling game nonetheless with the Yanks pulling off the win in the last innings. Lots of hot dogs, beers and good memories.

Speaking of generous people, we cannot forget my lovely girlfriend Penny who surprised me with a small green tissue-wrapped box when I awoke on Saturday morning.
Thinking it was just another block of Swiss Chocolate that somehow missed the coming-home ceremony
(You may think, oh poor Dave, complaining about receiving Swiss Chocolate, but believe me peoples, you could have melted it all down, re-shaped it into eggs and supplied Europe with three Easter's worth of chocolate with the amount of chocolate I've eaten in the last fortnight.)
Anyway, upon unwrapping the gift, I discovered it to be a brand spanking new 32GB iPod Touch. Totally out-of-the-blue!!!!
Early Birthday and Xmas present I'm told but I'm still a very happy and lucky boy.

Congratulations to John and Abby on the safe delivery of Tom Eric Sargent, on 12/9/09.

DC


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

New vs OldNew vs Old
New vs Old

Check out the old one that went down with the ark on the right!


15th September 2009

My friend Winston
Awww so nice to see a pic of me and my best friend Winston.... I bet he is missing sleeping with me!
18th September 2009

iRiver
oh no! the iRiver is getting shafted. You can still use it as a doorstop.

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 91; dbt: 0.0988s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb