Be Careful What You Wish For (Penny)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
July 30th 2009
Published: July 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hedley and meHedley and meHedley and me

Coffee in the East Village
Be careful what you wish for.... that's all I can say. My super-paced Manhattan lifestyle was far too work-heavy and light on the zzzzzz's. I wished for one less job, and that's exactly what I got. The design office ran out of work for me, right after I really got to know my colleagues during a huge dinner celebration at a local Italian restaurant.

I love my boss. He's personable, hilarious, treats his employees like family, swears he can't ever fire anyone, and plies us with rounds of red wine, sambucca, moscato, and drunken tiramisu. I refer to him in the present tense as I'm technically 'on call' in this fickle industry where clients never pay on time, resulting in a lack of company flexibility to hire a new recruit. The work will come, eventually, but for now I sit and wait.

I'm nutty with the lack of social contact, (thank god my friend Hedley flew over from Sydney last week), and trying desperately to go with the flow on a daily basis. In one month's time we'll be homeless yet again. I can't be certain I'll even have an income to pay for a new home if we
Hedley arrives!Hedley arrives!Hedley arrives!

Finally, a visitor from home...
find one. Welcome to New York City! I'm learning to chill-out, avoid planning, and trust that the city will deliver exciting opportunities. It hasn't failed yet....






Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Out of the City!Out of the City!
Out of the City!

My work site Upstate
mmm, Dulce de Lechemmm, Dulce de Leche
mmm, Dulce de Leche

An Argentinean girl from work brought back some treats. Are you envious, Julia?
Potential Celebrity SightingPotential Celebrity Sighting
Potential Celebrity Sighting

We live round the corner from Yoko Ono!
Yoko Ono's gate up the street from usYoko Ono's gate up the street from us
Yoko Ono's gate up the street from us

and right where John Lennon died.
John Lennon's piece of Central ParkJohn Lennon's piece of Central Park
John Lennon's piece of Central Park

200 metres from our apartment.
A Trip to the Natural History MuseumA Trip to the Natural History Museum
A Trip to the Natural History Museum

Getting desperate for things to do whilst unemployed


Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb