Enough Procrastinating! (Dave)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
July 27th 2009
Published: July 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I must apologize to those who have been wondering if I have dropped off the face of the earth. I have finally succumbed to the resistance and got off my lazy backside to write a blog.
I have been back in the US for over a month now, and most of the time I've been trying to keep a healthy balance of Work, Rest and Play.
My job at Mt. Sinai is coming along quite nicely actually. The guys in my base lab are very helpful even if they have a hard time understanding my 'Australian' English.
The Whiteboard at work is getting quite a workout as anything that comes out of my mouth that is uniquely Oz be it Aussie terms, rhyming slang or just stupid stuff that I say, goes straight up as 'Cultural Education'.
Examples include Dead Horse = Ketchup, Bugger = Darn, and Bag of Fruit = Suit.

In all seriousness, the work is challenging and enjoyable, and I have many opportunities for development (such as new Molecular Biology techniques, a chance to write papers and working with some of the industries top minds.)
Since work is on the Upper Ease Side and we are
Imposter!Imposter!Imposter!

Does this bridge in Queens remind you of another perhaps?
currently in the Upper West Side, work is only a half hour walk away. 28 minutes of that walk is through Central Park mind you! Check out my walking route at the bottom of my blog.

One downside is that sometimes I am unfortunately unable to come home and tell Penny all about my day. A good proportion of my days include sacrificing either well-developed chicken embryo's or mice in the name of Cancer research.

I am still managing to keep a few shifts at the pub each week, for a little extra capital. I usually get the Saturday double, meaning I open for the Ashes/TriNations in the morning (8am) and close up after the Midnight footy game (4am) - Keeps me honest though and I'm definitely not complaining.
One great kickback is that Matt (my boss at the pub) is shouting all the boys that work at the Pub to the Mets vs Rockies baseball game at the 'new' Shea Stadium tomorrow night, which I'm really pumped for.

As for the Rest and Play side of life, I can't say that I have been up to much of note. Pen and I love to explore the city by foot as much as we can and of course living that close to Central Park has its perks on a cool summers evening or a lazy sunny Sunday. The great thing about New York and especially the park is that there is ALWAYS something new to see or experience.

Take for instance, last Wednesday. Pen and I have both arrived home from work, cook up a quick dinner and decide to go for an evening stroll before the sun sets. Being in close proximity to the Park, it is natural that we automatically head there as our destination. The phenomenon that greets us both astounds and excites us to no end. The ground and low shrubs start to light up with small number of what looked like ash cinders. Upon closer inspection, we discover that the cinders are male lightning bugs (or fireflys, whatever you want to call them) searching for a mate. For an hour we wonder through the park chasing and examining these magnificent little creatures.

To finish up, I'd like to congratulate Nadia and Hamish on the successful welcoming of Cameron into the world.
I'd also like to wish Sarge and Abby all the very best for becoming parents for the first time in the not to distant future.

Cheers,
Dave

Cut and Paste ALL of the following into your browser to check out my walk to work!

http://maps.google.com/maps f=d&source=s_d&saddr=62+W+71st+St,+New+York,+NY+10023&daddr=West+Dr+to:40.789185,-73.962107+to:1190+5th+Ave,+New+York,+NY+10029-6503+(Mt+Sinai+Hospital)&hl=en&geocode=%3BFZpAbgIdqkqX-w%3B%3BFdtpbgIdzI2X-yH25j6HnA3rYA&mra=dpe&mrcr=0&mrsp=2&sz=14&via=1,2&dirflg=w&sll=40.782231,-73.961849&sspn=0.031716,0.067291&ie=UTF8&ll=40.784181,-73.962793&spn=0.031715,0.067291&t=h&z=14





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

For KBH!For KBH!
For KBH!

Automated Cover-Slip Applier for slides. You've been outsourced matey!


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb