They're Coming Out of the Woodwork (Penny)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 22nd 2009
Published: April 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Jennifer ConnellyJennifer ConnellyJennifer Connelly

Celebrity Sighting #1
A momentous occasion took place yesterday: we spotted two celebrities! Jennifer Connelly strolled past us in Soho, then Dave nearly wet his pants over some ugly old guy. (He tells me it was Dave Bryan, the keyboardist for Bon Jovi).

The golden thread of celebrity also wove through a job interview I attended this week, to be assessed by the right-hand man of an architect who is one in the Top 5 in the world. Let's call him 'Momus' (the Greek god of satire, mockery, censure, a spirit of evil-spirited blame and unfair criticism - you'll understand why soon enough). Momus is such a world renowned design genius, it was like a treasure hunt to find his office. I followed a sequence of clues through the streets of Manhattan before ending up at a non-descript doorway on Park Avenue. A sneaky black camera swiveled in it's bomb-proof socket like an oversize eyeball. After gaining approval, I was greeted and lead into a stunning white marble interior and up a graciously curved marble staircase. I didn't meet Momus personally, but he was 'in the building' and his ego permeated the walls.

Like most entities basking in the glory of celebrity,
Dave Bryan - Bon JoviDave Bryan - Bon JoviDave Bryan - Bon Jovi

Celebrity Sighting #2
Momus appears not to value personality. Military training is a preferred prerequisite. His minions enter this secret domain and, I was warned, must have "an extremely thick skin" to soak up the barrage of criticism and insults flowing daily to their sequestered CAD-monkey cages. They work and work and work, fed on piles of Momus' genius sketches, harassed and hounded hourly to turn straw into gold at record speed. "How fast can you draft? Could you win a race?", I was asked. "Then come 6pm... you start the second part of your day", said the robot minion, as though it were an honor to give up your life to propel the fame of Momus. No client contact in this job. No contact with the outside world at all, lest you betray stiffly guarded secrets or sully the name of Momus. Even the business-card of the robot minion touts a red-herring company name.

Ok, so I was stoked to be picked from the piles of hopefuls (worldwide) for an interview. And Momus has actually been one of my favorite architects for nearly 2 decades. But seriously, I found my perfect position in the boutique firm in Soho last week. The one with the dogs and the Macs and the fun-loving people bursting with personality. And I think Momus and I would do best not to ever meet personally. I'll admire his genius from afar, (knowing he's propped up by a century of overworked androids), and I'll be happy in a job that allows me to use and grow my creative talents.... oh, and to actually enjoy LIVING in New York City!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 96; dbt: 0.168s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb