New York New York - Friggin Freezin York!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
January 6th 2009
Published: January 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Below zero degreesBelow zero degreesBelow zero degrees

F*king cold!!!!
So I've finally been to the infamous NYC! My opinion? Dazzling lights, structures of glass and metal looming over you, blistering cold, brand name after brand name, people people people...

My hotel (the Pod) was awesome! Although I found myself in yet another closet, this time instead of paying $6 it was a wopping $148! But this is a bargain in brilliant New York, and I must admit it really is a great spot to stay, central and close to everything.

I spent most of my hours tubing or walking around Manhattan. The first task was to get a jacket and ear muffs to deal with the icy fingers of the chilling air which seemed to grip my bones no matter how many layers I had on!

On the first night I think I walked around the same block about 5 times trying to find a restaurant that "spoke to me"... I had a doorman ask me if I was ok and needed help and then three people stopped me and asked if I was looking for a restaurant and wanted to join them - I know, only I would find friends in the streets of New York! They were really awesome and attend a school of Christian mystical healing (difficult to explain, but I even got a message which was cool!) somewhere in USA and we had a magnificent meal of curry at a little Indian spot.

As for shopping - hold me back! Well, even though it was "SALE SEASON" things were still astronomically priced and I managed to hold myself back - but trust me it was hard! There is so much creativity and you could delight in using yourself as a blank canvass to create many different pieces of artwork with all there is on offer! But I contained the artist within and just enjoyed the creativity of Soho, the typicalness of China Town, and all of 5th avenues glory and dazzle...

It was good to end my trip in New York doing some solo explorations, think I would have been a lot more depressed if I'd gone from Samara straight home! I think New York is one of those cities you need to live in to really go beyond the surface of all the lights, shops, brand names, building and busyness and reach into the heart beat and soul of its energy... It was great but not in the slightest as amazing as I expected. I think it has been put on some pedastal of unattainability, yet it seems like another big city crowned in the glory of aesthetic beauty. Don't get me wrong - there is something truly dynamic and charming about the place which stretches beyond anything London could offer, but it has nothing on the openness and natural charm of ocean, sand, palm trees and sun drenching every breathe in every space...


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Sun?Sun?
Sun?

It gave some light but absolutely jack warmth!
Macy'sMacy's
Macy's

A shoppers heaven!
All American pictureAll American picture
All American picture

Dressed like a polar bear with my Starbucks cinnamon latte and the Apple giant as my backdrop...
Apple groupiesApple groupies
Apple groupies

I mean - how long can you really look at all the Apple toys before you get bored of it's technical charm?
The TKTS queueThe TKTS queue
The TKTS queue

I wanted to go see a broadway show, especially 'Wicked' but there was no way I was waiting in that queue!
The Naked cowboyThe Naked cowboy
The Naked cowboy

More like the crazy yuck desperate wannabee!
What?What?
What?

I have no idea why but it seems people choke in NY restaurants often...


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb