New York, New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
May 29th 2007
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Duca Girls hit BroadwayThe Duca Girls hit BroadwayThe Duca Girls hit Broadway

After the Lion King, we played the part of the typical tourists, and took a billion pictures on broadway.
So, May 29th my parents and my sister flew into New York. We dropped off our stuff at our hotel, and went out to eat at Blue Fin. I had some deeeeeelish lobster sushi 😊
Right after that, we walked down to Broadway and saw Lion King... it was interesting. I couldn't stop laughing at first, as my family (all above 16 years old) walk into a room full of much younger kids. Furthermore, my dad kept falling asleep. However, the show was really neat -- the set was amazing. Things coming out of the floor, things flying around, people as grass -- it was crazy creative. The best scene, I thought, (set-wise) was the stampede in the gorge. pretty sweet. After this, we pretty much just acted like tourists -- taking pictures on broadway, as you can see. Fun, nonetheless. The next day, we woke up and went to the Empire State Building. The views -- amazing (amoungst the smog, of course). but the thing I liked the most was all the different languages I heard around me. It was defintely a far-cry from typical Texas languages -- English, Spanish, and the occasional Polish (IZA!). After the Empire State Building,
empire stateempire stateempire state

my sister and I are the top of the Empire State Building

we went shopping around Union Square and then went to Little Italy -- oh Little Italy. The most amusing aspect of this area was the fire hydrants and lamp posts -- all painted green, white and red. I couldn't stop taking pictures of them... nor laugh at it. It defintely made my trip. The food in Little Italy -- I must say I was not impressed. Defintely the best that we had is when we stopped at a little cafe got some bread with olive oil, some sparkling water, a cappuccino and a cannoli (things you really can't mess up) and just sat there for a while. Otherwise, it was cool to finally be there, but I guess I had a more romanticized version in my head expected. So then, we went back to the hotel, and relaxed a little before we hit the streets again -- acting, once again, like tourists -- taking pictures of everything random. The next day, after going to mass in the most beautiful Cathedral I've ever been in (in the U.S.), we walked to Central Park, and then stopped at, what I think, was the best food I had in NY -- Rosen's Cafe.
Italian Fire HydrantItalian Fire HydrantItalian Fire Hydrant

I couldn't stop laughing about these! They make me laugh so much.
Even though all I really ate was rye toast and fresh fruit -- it was just what I wanted 😊 Then, I took a cab to the airport... and FINALLY began my journey to ITALY. I arrived at the airport, and started meeting all of the crazy characters that would mark my fabulous journey to Italy. You will hear much, MUCH more as this thing continues.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb