Final Thoughts


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 4th 2007
Published: April 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post


the sun rises
So we are home. How bummed out am I. I miss the simple, non-materialistic life we had while traveling. It was so nice to not use our cell phones, despite the fact that we both turned them on as soon as we landed in NY - so pathetic. It was also nice to not put make-up on or dry our hair once in two weeks.

Overall, I was unbelievably happy with this trip. It was educational in so many ways for me and truly an eye-opener in many different ways as well. I LOVED meeting new people in all the cities we visited...it was so fasicnating to learn about their lives and different cultures and I was beyond envious of their long travel schedules and how they had taken the time off to see a part of the world in depth. Rachael dittos all of this.

Flying home, I was a little anxioius about being back. I guess this is typical for me - as big as NYC is, my world here is very small and predictable. I'm happy here but I think I could be happier traveling - it's all I really want to do and it's all I really ever think about. I talk about taking a leap all the time and it's usually full of hot air...I can never pull the trigger. And Rach made a good point to me that my life needs to exist as it is now back in NYC to full appreciate this kind of trip and traveling. Truly an invigorating journey. I can't believe it's over already. If i had no responsibilities here I would have extended my journey indefinitely - I can't wait for my next trip wherever it may be.

I hope our blog gave you a taste of the trip and our experiences along the way. I don't think it could ever do justice to what we saw unless you've seen it through your own eyes. This trip was truly a life altering experience for both of us. It's nearly impossible to convey everything in this blog, but I hope you all can appreciate it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



6th April 2007

All thoughts in one
Bethie and Rach, So I just read the entire blog start to finish. You painted your entire trip so well, and I enjoyed every single word, picture, thought, inisght, story, and facts! I lived vicariously through you for the past 30 minutes, and it makes me itch to see more of the world. It's easy to get sucked into the day to day world and not even realize what else is out there to explore. THANK you for that reminder! I especially enjoyed the picture of Halong Bay (Beth, I'd like to frame a copy), the image of the Vietnamese boys taking pictures of Beth on the train, and Rach's great comment about, "life needs to exist as it is now back in NYC to full appreciate this kind of trip and traveling." I'm in town next week for work on the night of the 4/10 and then we have reunion weekend- whoo hoo. I love you both and can't wait to see you soon. Eri

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb