Bright lights, Big City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Brooklyn
December 14th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

When I first got back, Kerr posed the question, "Out of my element, or back in it?" A month later I still don't feel like I have much of an answer to that question. Being back feels more familiar than anything, more familiar than say, "being back home". I think I'm coming to terms with the idea that perhaps nothing will ever quite feel like home. It's certainly thrilling to be back, and I'm enjoying it. It was awesome crashing with my sisters for 3 weeks while I tried to get setup in Brooklyn. It's awesome having a beautiful apartment in a neighborhood that I like. I'm enjoying the access and am enjoying learning the city anew by introducing it to my new room mate Goble. At the same time, the City is the same as it ever was. It's a hustle. The people are terrific, as Ross has been joking, people are breaking down doors to help him out, and that's true. New York is always in your face, good and bad, and despite its rough and tumble image, there is plenty of good, lots of smiles and friendly people. There's plenty of opportunity hidden through the hustle. Perhaps my interview tomorrow goes well and I end up making fat cash working at a photo studio, perhaps it's just another hustle and someone trying to sell me Amway. At the very least, it's nice to be back close to the fam, and to catch up with old friends.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Rockefeller CenterRockefeller Center
Rockefeller Center

By far and away the smallest tree I've ever seen at Rockefeller Center


Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb