Postscript and Thanks


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Brooklyn
December 12th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow, so, my planned postscript has actually become a postscript since it's taken me a month to get to. But I am very grateful to have made it back here in one piece. The truth is it wouldn't have been possible to do without all the help I received along the way. I guess first on that list would be my man, now somewhere in Mexico, Matt Stevens, whom without I don't think this whim would have ever gotten beyond my crazy head. Thanks man. I couldn't have started the trip without you, and I don't think either one of us could have finished it any other way. Now that I think of it, the bigger thanks then should go to Erin for throwing a 'bow on Matt. Without your elbow all this couldn't have happened. Jan, the bike held up tremendously for the 8,100 miles I logged. The setup was terrific. Kara Thoma, thanks for not letting me back out when I figured out I would get back here broke if I did it. Well, I'm broke, and it was worth every penny. All of my peeps on Ocean Dock RD, perhaps my largest concentrated fanbase, your support is always appreciated. The dude who gave me a jump at Mt. St. Helens, that was key. Jack, who knows where we would have ever gotten without you buddy? I don't. Adrian, thanks for hooking up the bike, and the crash mechanical coarse. Jenn, for all of your support, and the ups and downs, they're important too. Much love. Ooh and everybody whose floor I crashed on-man that's a long list; Kerr, Adrian, Rob, Kristi, Casey, Kitty, Kara, Haley, Kayla-man, I really did camp a bunch. Which reminds me, Pam, thanks for letting me borrow your tent and telling me to bring along the extra prints. The guys who I convinced to help break my tire bead, that was a big one. Wayne for all his hospitality, if you're ever in Kanab, stay at Wayne's it's the Sunset I think, just past Pizza Hut, same side of the street. Troy, for the epic conversation. The glass cutting guy, that was awesome. My family in total, much love, no matter where I go, I take you all with me, so, I hope you understand that I just can't always stick around. What else? All the crazy shit I saw along the way, beautiful and ugly, but mostly the constant, staggering beauty. Crew 4 for the gas, some would say I have plenty, but they don't know that what you gave me fueled me through most of the West. Big ups. Well, me too I suppose, couldn't have done it without a whimsical idea, that became a dream, that became a reality, that already seems surreal. I really haven't totally digested the journey, but I'll tell you, it was something else.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb