A slower day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Brooklyn
June 27th 2007
Published: June 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm short on time today but I'll do my best.

Because I go so much done the day before, I felt like taking it easy. Rose and I started the day with lunch at Lombardi's, which came highly recommended by Steve. I knew I would love it before I even walked in. Was it th adorable look of the building? Yes, but no. It was because the smell of sweet, sweet delisious basil was wafting from it! When we actually did walk in, they glorious sound of Frank Sinatra greeted us. I mean really, does it get any better than that? It does! The food was phe-nominal. We ordered a ricotta and garlic sauteed pizza and a tomato, coal oven roasted bell pepper, basil and mozzerella plate. I ordered an italian soda and that was pretty good, too.

Rose and I went shopping at H&M, Steve and Barry's and then got lost on the subway for a while before heading out for a drink. We went to some place called Earth or something to that effect which was really lovely. From there, we headed over to Red Rock which someone recommended to me. It was much more fun than I would have thought. It was a Coyote Ulgy type bar. The bartendress danced on the bar, lit it on fire and beat a guy over the head durring the Safety Dance song. We met some construction guys from Jersey who were really nice and bought us a couple rounds. Really, most people in this city are very kind, so long as you're not standing their way. I spent more money than I would have liked to but hey! I'm on vacation!

Pardon any misspellings or typos. No time.

Advertisement



27th June 2007

dive bars
Red Rock, on Laguardia? over by NYU? If you like that joint, check out hogs and heifers in the meat packing district. If you REALLY want to see the original....check out Doc holidays on 9th st, and ave. A, next to needle park. I got my ASS KICKED in there, but it is still my favorite bar. the ULTIMATE dive bar; where hogs and RR stole their acts from. Picture of johnny Cash on velvet and the beft f#@king jukebox in manhattan. DONT ORDER THE FOOD.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb