New Mexico State


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico
September 23rd 2007
Published: November 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So my Texas adventure was over and i was on to the next state, New Mexico. Our first stop was Carlsbad Caverns, caves under the ground with amazing rock formations, while the caves were amazing a major plus was the fact its so cold now there, I was in my element, i was running around so happy simply at the fact that i was dying from the heat. the problem when camping is that you can never escape it, if its hot during the day then the tent will be hot at night so the fact that i had these 2 hours of running around in the cool air under ground meant that i was in great form and there was so much too see and some of the formations were magical looking, nature does some amazing things if people dont mess it up. So as i skipped and jumped to the van with my new found happiness, nothing could get me down even when i was told that it was my turn to coook dinner and not just for our group but wendys as well and we were having Spag Bol, ok spag bol is proberly the easiest thing to make in the world but making me cook for 18 people something that i dont even eat but they caught me in a good mood so i did it anyway and even though i didnt try it, it was pretty damn good. After dinner we did the american classic, drive in movie to see the nanny diaries, unfortunatly because of the way the van is we couldnt sit inside it and see the movie so we had to take the seats out and just sit on the floor so basically it was an outside movie theatre for us but it was great to do once and not for the first time this tour started i felt like i was in a movie.
The next day we set off to Santa Fe, known as the city different. It is America's oldest city and was made into a capital city by if you havent guessed by the name, the spanish in 1607. All the buildings are built and have to be continued to be built in old style terracotta and where i cant think of the name of the style itself, it reminds me of bedrock, home of the flintstones but more modern. The town itself is very small and has a green in the middle where they have daily things going on like music, poetry readings etc. the day we were there was a christian convention so as we were walking around this sedate little town we had a rather scary rock preacher n\man screaming at the top of his lungs with a voice that can only be described as the voice of a devil that jesus was alive and we better be better people all we will die a terrible terrible death. I think i may be taking my backpacking too far as the salvation army were there and one of the woman came over to me and offered me free food and some refreshments of which i gratfully accepted. when i told the group they laughed and said it was for the homeless people, even though i dont agree with them on this matter i make a mental note to put effort into my clothes and wear make up tomorrow. We had a quite chilled out night just back at the campsite playing poker where i finally won a game and may have taking my celebrationsa tiny bit to
RoswellRoswellRoswell

I forgot to mention passing Roswell in my blog, reason, there is nothing there - no wonder they believe in aliens
far before heading to my tent for some well needed sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Santa FeSanta Fe
Santa Fe

Oldest Church in America


Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb