Roswell-Capitan-Ft Stanton BLE campground


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Roswell
August 11th 2011
Published: August 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Thursday August 11 – Roswell – Capitan – Ft Stanton
It’s about 10 AM Thursday morning and starting to warm up so guess I had better close up my office and go by somewhere that has WiFi. Today I will take a look at the Bottomless Lakes and tour Roswell and then head West to Lincoln.
Got up around 8AM and after having a breakfast of cereal and coffee loaded up and headed into Roswell. Kinda glanced at the alien stuff in the store windows as I drove by on my way to the SuperWalmart at the north side of town. After getting some supplies I drove to Lincoln. I had half a tank of gas but thought that was plenty which was a mistake. I pased another station in Hondo where gas was 20 cents more a gallon than Roswell but passed it again figuring Lincoln would have a gas station. Another mistake.
Lincoln surprised me because in order to retain its Old Western authenticity it has no gas stations or grocery stores. So anyone leaving Roswell had better have a full tank.
I had gotten there too late to really do the location justice so I went on to
Capitan to get gas and barely made it without running out of gas. Then I came back East to Fort Stanton in the BLM land to camp out. There is camping at the Equestrian Trailhead for people riding horses. Just past the fenced in area turn left through a gate and immeadiate left again past the Host house. Then just pick a spot. Nothing wrong with the price. It was free ! So at that price I guess I will stay here 2 or 3 days and tour the many sights in the area.
There are also spaces along the fence that have electric. You have to pay the park host. I believe the charge was $4.00. .
I have an awesome campsite on the BLM land. I can literally see for miles in all directions and the closest other camper is several hundred yards away.
It was cool in the morning but got hot in the afternoon in Roswell but as I approached Lincoln it cooled down and here at Ft Stanton it is very cool and comfortable with low humidity. The elevation at Ft Stanton is 6300 ft.
In Capitan there is WIFI at the library there so I caught up on my computer work as well. There is no password so if it is closed you can sit outside in your vehicle and log on as I did.
I got a good night's sleep and planned on touring Lincoln the next day.
There are 22 pictures with this entry so scroll down past ad to see them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb