Balloon fest or no balloon fest


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Albuquerque
October 5th 2011
Published: October 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

October 5 Balloon fest
Got up at 0330 to get ready for the balloon fest. As I prepared to go I kept on the local news on channel 7 to see if the launch was going on this morning. Finally the weatherman on the field said that he had talked to the officials and they said all events for this morning are cancelled account the rain. They waited till I got dressed and drank 2 cups of coffee before they did it. It's such a shame as I pushed hard on an over 1000 mile drive to get here for this morning's launch. Yesterday it rained the most in a single day that it has since Dec 2010!!
They said if anyone wanted to come out anyway the vendors would be open and they were allowing free parking and entrance for this morning. After a while the woman newsperson came on and said most of the vendors were closing and going home.....but we could still come out.....to what... an empty wet field in the rain!
Kind of reminds me of when I visited Chattanooga earlier this year in the week the 18 year locust were swarming......sigh.
I was already dressed so I used the time this morning to catch up my blog on this trip. I intend to invest today in going out to balloon fest park and scout around and also scout out a couple of overnight parking locations as there are no rooms available for the weekend and if they open up they will be at almost double the usual price.
Looks like blue sky and sunshine outside now at 0900 so guess I will venture out and do a little homework for this weekend.
There are supposed to be heavy winds tomorrow so will see what happens as far as tomorrow morning's launch.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb