Albuquerque


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Albuquerque
August 27th 2011
Published: August 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wall Art - AlbuquerqueWall Art - AlbuquerqueWall Art - Albuquerque

Wall art in Albuquerque on Central Avenue near the University
ALBUQUERQUE - August 21 - 27
August 21 Albuquerque – Sunday
First thing I did today was go to the office of Suburban Extended Stay and paid up $281 for the week. Then I went to the Albuquerque Aquarium. It was much bigger and more impressive than the pitiful National Aquarium in DC. After visiting the Aquarium I went to the Botanical Gardens as well. I had bought a combo ticket for both for $7.00, a pretty good deal. The gardens were really nice and I was surprised by a large outdoors miniature train display. It was very large and not even talked about in the tourist info I had read. Next I visited the Museum of Natural History. I had a full day at that. I drove around exploring the city a bit and then headed back to the hotel.
Monday August 22 – Albuquerque
Monday I spent all morning catching up on emails and sorting pictures.
Then I went by Souper Salad to eat. I need to make sure I meet my needs for green leafy’s.
Then I went to “Old Town” which was the original Plaza for Albuquerque. There was sufficient street parking on and near the plaza
today whereas on Sunday when I had gone through there the only available parking was in parking lots for $3.00. Monday was much better as it was much less crowded and free 2 hour parking was available on the plaza. The information center is off the plaza as well and I gathered up some info on places I want to see. The information center was very helpful and gave me some needed info on the Acoma Pueblo which I intend to visit on Wednesday. Also at the info center there is a courtyard with free WIFI and at the time I was there a band was playing some relaxing music. The weather is not bad here but the sun is hot but as long as you can get out of the sun and into some shade it is comfortable.
I had planned on going to The Albuquerque Museum of Art and History on Mountain Rd just north of Old Town but found out that it was closed on Mondays so I went to the Rattlesnake Museum instead. It was supposed to have the largest collection of rattlesnakes in the world and indeed there were plenty.
I went by the train station intending to take the train to Santa Fe and back but there was only paid parking and so I decided if I had to pay for parking as well as my fare I would wait till I had more day left and go.
So I went back to the hotel and worked on my facebook page and edited pictures.
August 24 Wednesday
I’m sitting in a plaza across the street from a church built in 1706 and just enjoying the cool breeze and some music coming from the main plaza of a band warming up to play. It rained earlier and has been cloudy most of the day which has kept the hot sun away. It is very nice, pleasant, and relaxing here. I am so fortunate to be able to enjoy this.
Earlier today I went to the Pueblo Museum and after viewing it I went to the restaurant for some real Indian cooking. I had the waitress bring me some more cornbread and milk to put the fire out. The tears in my eye weren’t from sentiment.
Kind of nice in this plaza. It seems every day they have a different free band playing.
Well……I’m paid up at the hotel till Sunday noon so guess I will just enjoy. I may stay till Monday though. I like starting a journey again on Monday.
And besides, I’m sure they will have some kind of event this weekend.
Thursday August 25 – Acoma Pueblo
Acoma Pueblo is the oldest continuously inhabited community in North America; since 1100. It is 65 miles West of Albuquerque off I-40 exit 102 and follow the signs. It can be reached taking the 108 exit and going south on Hwy 23 but there is a scenic overlook on the Hwy 32 route. Take exit 102 and go south on Hwy 30, turn south again on Hwy 32 (follow the signs). The speed limit is 45mph and it is a good idea to observe it as there were some horses on the highway when I took the road. When I got to the overlook there was a sign saying no pictures without a camera permit but I figured I AM going to buy a permit when I get to the visitors center so I took my pictures. When I got to the visitors center I got a senior ticket for $17(regular $20) which covered a camera permit, a 11/2 hour guided tour and entrance to the museum. I really don’t like guided tours but there is no other option permitted if I wanted to visit the Pueblo. You must take the bus to the top of the Mesa (which at over 7000 ft wasn’t a bad idea), but afterwards you can go down the stone steps back to the tourist center if you wish. There is no running water or electricity in the Pueblo which is the way the Indians want it. They are adamant about preserving their traditions. They get their drinking water from 2 perpetually flowing springs in the side of the mesa.
It was an interesting visit and afterwards I was going to eat in their restaurant but the girl taking the orders was so slow and incompetent that I just said heck with it and considered I would eat when I got back to Albuquerque. Plus I hadn’t forgotten how the Indian food at the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center in Albuquerque was so hot I had to eat 3 blue corn muffins and a glass of milk to put the fire out. When a New Mexican says it’s not hot Do Not believe her !
The mission in the Pueblo was interesting and I am sure it stays cool most of the time as the church walls were 12 feet thick. It was actually cool on top of the mesa since it was over 7000 feet anyway.
After touring the Pueblo I had intended to take the stone stairway down but just got lazy I guess and rode the bus down.
I went back the Hwy 23 route to I-40. It is a more direct route and took me by Enchanted Mesa. The speed limit was 45 and I had to stop for cows to get out of the way every now and then. I also just stopped in the middle of the road a couple of times and took pictures as I was the only one on the road and could see for miles in each direction.
When I got back to Albuquerque I visited the Albequerque museum of Art and History and pretty much gave it just a once over as I guess I am getting a little “museum’ed out”.
When I got back to Albuquerque it was roasting hot and although there were some clouds around none of them were over me.
I had started using my AC a bit since I had crossed the Desert and the New Mexico Apache Wilderness and another desert again and was back in a city but once again it started leaking compressor oil so guess it is no AC for me once again. Actually I am starting to believe I am doing this backward. I should go directly north to my northernmost place I am going to visit and then meander back southward just ahead of the snow. I am paid up here till Sunday so I will consider it till then.
After visiting the museum I came back to my hotel and after eating some leftover Pizza I took my nap. Even a dog has sense enough to sleep during the hottest part of the day.
August 26 Friday
I had decided to use today as a “catch-up” day and get my wash, etc. done. I found my timing was good as all the washers and dryers were empty. However to my chagrin I found I had no detergent. I had left mine at my sisters to replace some I had used and intended to just get me another on down the road. Unfortunately I had never replaced it.
So later this evening I will go by the Walmart up the street and get some more detergent along with a few other things. Or I might not.
I have plenty of other catch up chores to attend to today. I’ll take another stab at washing clothes tomorrow….. or next week.
My stay here in Albuquerque has been great and I am paid up here till Sunday Noon so guess that is when I will head North.
Right now I am trying to decide if I want to just head up I-25 and see the things I want to see before winter sets in or just do a leisurely tour of New Mexico and Colorado and let the other go for now. After all I have already been to Yellowstone and Glacier National Park anyway.
I have till Sunday noon to make up my mind.
The hot weather seems to have caught up with me again so I need to get to a higher altitude. All the compressor oil has leaked out of my AC from somewhere so I have no AC in my truck again.
Had thought I might go to a couple of more museums today but that doesn’t look like it will happen. I’ve pretty much been in my lounging pants and a T shirt all day doing homework on my computer.
Guess I will get dressed and go eat.
August 27 Albuquerque Saturday
I’m up drinking my tea and thinking things over. Have decided to get my wash done and get caught up on the details and take a nap during the hot part of the day and go to Old Town this evening to see how it looks in the evening. Tomorrow the plan is to head North on I-25 to Bernalillo then out on Hwy 550 to San Ysidro and explore some of the locations on Hwy 4 finding a free campground in the mountains. So that’s the plan. Then the next day I will ease my way to Taos. I’ll just go around Santa Fe as I explored it on my last trip. Every bit of tourist info I see on it only wants to talk about shopping and eating in restaurants anyway….two things I really don’t have much interest in anymore.
I’ve decided to explore New Mexico and Colorado and if I make it to Yellowstone before the
snow gets too bad that’s good. If not then…..oh well. I’ve been there before.
I have been really surprised with how much there is to see and do in New Mexico. Pretty much
until now it has been a place I hurriedly passed through on the way somewhere else.
Of course this is the first time in my life I have had the luxury of both time and money to be able to linger as long as I want where I want. Up till now I’ve had time but not enough money or money but not enough time.
Saturday evening
I ended up just investing the day in getting caught up on my blog. There were just too many pictures so I gave up on them and just entered the text. Also packed up most of my stuff so I will be ready to load up tomorrow morning and head North. Gave up on doing the wash so guess I will just load it up again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



Tot: 0.535s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 18; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb