My Parents' 50th Anniversary Party


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey
April 27th 2009
Published: April 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

50 years ago, on April 11, 1959 my parents were married. Lucky for my sister and I, of course, since we were blessed with the perfect parents. My childhood was full of family and friends. My parents made such a family for us, and we were always surrounded by grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, second cousins, those we adopted as "family" but are still family, and friends. We were given everything we ever wanted. But I think over the years, the bicycles, the video games, the cars (all those we crashed of course), and the enormous tuition bills became less important than the bonds we created as a family over the years. No family is perfect. There are good times and there are struggles. But in the long run, what matters are these relationships. Anyone who knows us realizes that Sandy and I can battle as adults the same way we did as little girls. Yet deciding to throw this party was never a battle, never even a question. As it is in most cases, many of us grew apart. The months became years in some cases, and we wanted everyone to know how important they were and are in our lives. It was about bringing our family back together again. I know for my parents, certain people have always been around, a constant part of their lives. And for those people we are eternally grateful. To those who we may have lost touch with, we are still eternally grateful and wanted to bring you all back into our lives. Anyone who knows my parents, understand how selfless, how loving, how grateful, and how blessed they are. And in that respect, so were my sister and I. Thank you to all of you who were there at their party, and all of you who wanted to be there. I have learned that each day is a blessing, and that no matter what, family is family.




Additional photos below
Photos: 80, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb