bulkr8


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Newton
May 6th 2012
Published: May 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well it's less than a week before my trip. I can't wait. I have been looking forward to this trip for over 10 years now and now my son can join me. The main reason for this trip is to see for myself my fathers final resting place in SantaFe New Mexico. In 1929 my father graduated high school and decided to go cross country with 3 on his friends. When they got to Albuquerque NM he told his friends that someday he would retire there. Well in 1972 he did, he bought a 2 bedroom adobe style home and settled in. He was happy and for the next 19 years it was home. He is now buried in the Veterans cemetary in SanteFe. I have not been back since he died and i want to see for myself that everything is as it should be.

My son and I will be leaving on Saturday May 12,2012 for a three week trip to retrace some of my fathers steps when he crossed the country with his friends. I have already made this trip with my father in the late 60's and it was a time to remember. I have been given the gift of this great country of ours and I want to share it with my family. This is just a small part of that gift that I hope my son will enjoy and want to share with his family some day.

We will be doing this trip on motorcycles instead of in the car. This is also something I have wanted to do. I will post photos along with these blogs so perhaps those that see it will enjoy a part of this trip as well.



Thats it for now. Look for more in the coming days.

Advertisement



11th May 2012

Have a wonderful trip. :)
12th June 2012

i think i saw it all what a great trip u both had
kevin get back to me soon love to all liz

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb