Memoirs of a City Slicker


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Morris County » Randolph
January 17th 2006
Published: January 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Coleman's full size towelColeman's full size towelColeman's full size towel

beware..objects appear smaller than advertised!
Today was my first day as a retiree. Transitioning from a city slicker to a backpacker mentality is proving to be a challenge as I have already experienced some embarrassing yet laughable moments today..

The first was what I thought was a brilliant invention by Coleman of a “full size” towel compacted down to a 1 ¾ inch package. Not thoroughly reading the small print, I purchased this deceiving, yet promisable package and witnessed the expansion in the safety of my own bathroom. The results were discouraging as this “full size” towel reminded me of the dish rag my mother used back in the 90’s.. The gingham pattern should have been a dead-giveaway!!

Another moment occurred at the local Sports Authority. My previously written mission of finding travel-savvy clothes is proving to be another challenge. The people at Columbia think multi-utility paper-mache-pants-that-zip-off-to-be-worn-as-shorts are fashionable and even desirable, as they make about 6 versions of the panshorts.. Maybe for some, but not for this backpacking diva! I won’t even discuss the elastic waist bands!!

It’s a good thing I have 4 more weeks to scout the east coast for apparel, towels and the 80 other items that Doug from
Elastic waist bandElastic waist bandElastic waist band

Clearly a fashion faux-pas!
onebag.com recommended I pack for my adventure.. like a hat clip, sink-stoppers, inflatable hangers and thongs.. Mind out of the gutter, "Mr. T".. This is a family website, I’m talking about sandals!!

A trip to EMS is in the works, special thanks to Bill, Rob, Carlos and Beth!

KIT


Advertisement



30th January 2006

BAG PROBLEMS
LET THESE INDIANS HELP U IN THE LAST 3 MONTHS OF UR TRIP, U KNOW HOW 2 GET IN TOUCH

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb