Getting to Lambertville


Advertisement
Published: March 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Driving to ManhattanDriving to ManhattanDriving to Manhattan

Apparently, choosing to drive through Manhattan to the Holland Tunnel during rush hour on a Friday was a bad idea. Who would have thought?
To make it to my cousin's wedding in Lambertville, New Jersey, my parents and I decided to save a few hundred dollars by flying into La Guardia in New York City. I've never been to New York, so I thought it might be nice to see parts of the city as we drove through. I got more than I bargained for! We landed in New York City at 4:30pm. We didn't get into the Holland Tunnel to make it to New Jersey until nearly 8pm. We sat in traffic in Manhatten on a Friday during rush hour for hours. I loved all the people watching, we didn't really have anywhere to be that evening, and, besides, I didn't have my little ones with me. I could think of less interesting places to be stuck in traffic than Manhattan! From the back seat of the rental car, I can honestly say that New York City appeared to be so full of life! I wanted to get out and explore. Instead, I watched people for a couple hours as a single car would pass through an intersection about every 3 green lights or so.

My parents were not exactly as relaxed about the traffic as me. We hadn't eaten since that morning, and getting stuck in traffic that didn't move meant we had to go about 8 hours without food. My mom was chewing on mints, and, in the middle of Nowhere, New Jersey, finally broke down and said she couldn't make it to Lambertville without food. We drove through the country side looking for a convenience store. It doesn't sound that difficult, but the gas stations in New Jersey often don't have convenience stores. I'm just taking a shot in the dark here, but I imagine it's because you aren't allowed to pump your own gas here. You stay in your car, and a gas attendant pumps it for you. No getting out of the car means no running in for a quick snack. After winding through some small state highways, we finally found a 7-11 near Somerville. It was 9pm when we finally pulled into The Inn at Lambertville Station in Lambertville, New Jersey.

Our inn is beautiful. It's a large, stone building that sits right on the Delaware River, overlooking New Hope, Pennsylvania. Just a short walk north along the river is the Lambertville Station. It used to
Looking Out at the Delaware River from The Inn at Lambertville StationLooking Out at the Delaware River from The Inn at Lambertville StationLooking Out at the Delaware River from The Inn at Lambertville Station

It only took four hours to drive 75 miles, but we finally made it to Lambertville, New Jersey.
be a 19th century train station but is now an inviting pub. We met some of my cousins and one of my aunts and uncle in the pub. After a long, long day of travel, it was nice settling in with loved ones.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The Inn at Lambertville StationThe Inn at Lambertville Station
The Inn at Lambertville Station

Our inn sits right on the Delaware River. On the other side of the river is Pennsylvania.


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb