Great tradition


Advertisement
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The great tradition of a BBQ with fiends and family. This past weekend we held our annual BBQ earlier than usual because I wanted my son to experience the fun and joy of a BBQ with special people. There is lots of food, drinks, and games for all, but the real fun and joy I wanted him to experience was different cultures that are part of our family. I remember as a child going to BBQ to families or friends, but never really being to one of diversed cultures. At our get togethers was of Spanish culture and going to friends get togethers were of their culture. Looking around this past weekend and having my some, I know for fact this was his first BBQ of being around a taotally different setting with many different culutres. There was Puerto Ricans, African American,Irish, Italian, German, Polish, and a few other descnets and culture. The few things I know why my son was excited, because throughout the BBQ and the next day was why did we have so much food and what was this platter and that other platter (needless to stay he stuck to his rice&beans and chicken, though any kid tries all the different deserts and candies), why are so many different games and music being played? I will be taking him back next Monday to Puerto Rico, one thing that I enjoyed this summer with him is that there are many different places and people in this world, every culture is different but our family and friends do demostarate is love, peace, fun, and joy being togehter no matter where we come from. I'm glad that I have the opportunities to bring him up here because in smaller countries one is blind to the rest of the world, here we are always around numerous people and cultures. He would need to understand this for the future because the world will be one big melting pot, not just the United States.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb