Life is better on the lake!


Advertisement
Published: July 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

KelseyKelseyKelsey

Kelsey caught mid-sucking a lime
It’s another beautiful day on the lake. I’m currently sitting on the deck with two delicious mixed drinks, two beers, and a moxie next to me. Moxie is apparently a very popular soda in the New England area that I promised myself I’d try. It tastes something in between root beer and Dr. Pepper with a flat after taste. I’m currently not a fan - yet, at least. I haven’t drank much all week due to my brief sickness but that’s just about all in the past now and I’m ready to get a little tipsy. Next to me is also “On The Road” by Jack Kerouac. It’s a very famous book and rightfully so, as I have found out. It’s about a group of free-spirited youths finding themselves by traveling America without much of an itinerary. I’m only halfway through but I can already tell that it’s going to be one of my all-time favorites.

We smoked the other night again; it’s fun smoking here. It’s not like there’s a long list of options when it comes to entertainment so smoking some marijuana is a common occurrence in the evenings - I’m all for it. Afterward we headed up
Reading on the lakeReading on the lakeReading on the lake

There's nothing more relaxing than reading on a beautiful day with the picturesque lake in your foreground
to the deck. The stars look beautiful and it seems like the more you look, the more come out. I looked up at the brightest star and couldn’t help but wonder what was out there. I’ve always been very perplexed by astronomy and it didn’t help that I recently watched “Into the Mind of Steven Hawking: Aliens” while high.

I woke up the next morning to find that it was 10 AM. I went to bed at about 1 AM. This meant that I got about 9 hours of sleep and was well rested. I always find comfort in knowing that I got a good night sleep. I headed up to my dad’s cabin and got the scoop for the day - everyone was going to Sunapee Harbor at noon to get ice cream and venture the area. When we got to the “Quack Shack” for ice cream I spent the first ten minutes trying to master this stupid game they have in the back. It’s a simple game - just a plank of wood with a hook on it. Another plank of wood comes overhead with a rope attached to it. At the end of the rope is
Davis CabinsDavis CabinsDavis Cabins

Where we stay
a metal ring. The idea is to swing the metal ring so that it catches the hook; it’s harder than it sounds and it’s extremely frustrating. The trick is to swing the metal ring gently. If you swing it too hard then it will just hit the wood and go flying in some random direction. I knew the trick to it and I still couldn’t get it to work. I gave up after awhile and decided to get ice cream.

After the ice cream everyone split it separate directions. I headed into an artsy-type store with my step mom. The girl working the counter was pretty cute. I get excited whenever I see cute girls from places other than New York - they’re interesting to me (not that I dislike like New York girls). I went looking through the store for things to buy just so that I could talk to her. I started sniffing Yankee candles until I found which one I liked the best - pineapple cilantro. She saw me sniffing and said “that’s the best one”. “Definitely” I replied and grabbed it. When I got to the counter she said “so you liked it that much, huh?” I said “yeah” and soon realized why she said that; it was 25 bucks! I’m a guy; I don’t know candles - and of course I grabbed the biggest one. I bought it nonetheless. “What year of college are you in?” I asked (my dad had found that much out when he rang up his stuff). “I’m a junior” she replied. You could tell that she was a very happy, go-lucky New England-er. “Me too” I said with a genuine smile. We told each other what colleges we both attended and I told her that I was studying abroad in Italy this fall. “Oh, I’m studying abroad this spring!” she said with excitement. I asked her where and she said “Rome”. I got super excited since this is where I’ll be studying abroad as well. We chatted about it very briefly and she told me she was Italian - she looked it. She was wearing a sun dress but you could tell she had an awesome body. I told her I had to head out but that I might be back in the harbor area later this week; I didn’t want to come off as a creep. She said
Tiki NightTiki NightTiki Night

Some more Tiki night fun
that she’s always working and she’d probably be there. I left the store and headed back to Davis Cabins. If only she had been studying abroad this fall like me! I could have easily gotten her Facebook for starters and probably would have eventually hooked up with her - you could tell she dug me. Not only that but it would also just be cool to know a girl up in New England - I like networking.

Evening is approaching fast now and they’re setting up the deck for “Tiki Night”. I’m feeling pretty tipsy. I almost forgot how good it feels to get drunk and I expect that I will be a little more drunk by the end of the night. Hopefully the stars are good tonight!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

A loungerA lounger
A lounger

Why not, right?


Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0188s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb