Coorn Chowdah


Advertisement
Published: June 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Its been an interesting past few nights, sailing out still seems like a distant and unreal event. The weathers been perfect here, sunny days, cool crisp nights but apparently its all going to change quickly. We're still waiting for banks and lawyers to settle things out so we'll be leaving at the latest wednesday. In the mean time our collection of local friends is growing. I'm going to miss this place. We've recently adopted a few young fishermen from the pier, which has been more than entertaining. And trust me, in a situation such as this, entertainment is the key. We've watched crew come and go as they have to go back to their normal everyday lives and its odd. The tension finally broke yesterday with the first official meeting and beginning ceremonies. champagne enjoyed after the completion of our safety drills. Man overboard and abandon ship understood. Days are melding together, time doesn't really mean much anymore and I kind of like it. This will be the first night that I'll have a room to myself and I'm pretty sure I'd rather have a bunk buddy, even though the room isn't really big enough for one, I'd rather have two. With the fowl weather coming i can see from the looks in the fishermans eyes that we'll have a stomach turning good time. I'm concerned but a little vomit never really hurt anyone.. who was conscious of course. Makeshift pedicures and a 2 hour trip to the whosit whatsit store made today pretty damn good. That and a vist from an interesting new friend. Our first family dinner, cooked on the boat was a success, a strange choice of canned meats but a success nonetheless. I am beginning to miss my constant internet access and kittens and whatnot, and when i say whatnot i mean family ;o) Last night was spent on the pier making friends over a liter of shiraz. A good hour was dedicated to teaching a boston girl how to say corn chowder like a canadian. We'll see what tomorrow brings, I feel as bittersweet about leaving as i did staying a few days ago. I'll miss the atmosphere, the people and most of all the wonderful soft garlic cheese.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb