Last few days at camp.....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Hampshire » Freedom
August 27th 2005
Published: October 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Howdy everyone,

What a strange thought that my 10 weeks here at camp are over as of tomorrow!!! It's been a great summer again, we've had great weather, great campers, and after all the sicknesses at the barn we were left with 7 great horses too!

For the last week I was a counselor in Cabin Z. With a few counselors having to leave early for college they were short so I volunteered. It was a big change from the last time, when I had Cabin S (some of the youngest campers) to move into the Senior division, with some of the oldest campers. It was a great experience and I had a lot of fun getting to know this other side of camp and meeting the girls. I think it was tough on them to change counselors but hopefully they enjoyed having me in their cabin too 😊

One of my favourite days this summer included Olympic Day, like in 2003, a fun-filled day with 9 teams each representing a country. I, of course, represented the Netherlands and had some great counselors on my team, Aly and Ali (this summer there were a lot of Ali's!!!) We didn't win in the end but we had so much fun competing in the land, water and trivia events, which were slightly affected by the thunder that showed up in the afternoon (but did nothing to change the scorching weather!) Another fun-filled day was the Water Carnival, where the waterfront and smallcrafts staff acted out the musical Grease in the water and on the floats, while us Program Staff read out the lines. I played one of the guys, and me pretending to be a guy was one of the most ridiculous-sounding things ever, let me tell you! Hilarious.

Today is the last day of Family Camp, a lot more relaxed than regular girl's camp, no instructional periods- the families do whatever they like all day and each department has special activities organised. Instead of the 370 girls we have to watch there are approximately 25-30 families (who can watch their own kids of course). A great atmosphere!

Tomorrow Jenny, Katie Briggs, Katie Davison (Davo)and I will be driving up to Montreal, Canada, while there will be 4 boys taking the bus from Concord and another car arriving on Monday and another arriving on Tuesday. Altogether we'll spend
80s Dress up lunch80s Dress up lunch80s Dress up lunch

It's time to get up on the tables and sing 80s songs!!!
a week over there, basically enjoying our free time! After that we'll drive back to Boston and on the 5th I will be going to LA, California with Davo (Aussie) and Remy (Welsh dance & drama chick!). We will be living it up in Hollywood!!

On the 13th I will finally be returning home (The Netherlands....after all this time I wonder where home is sometimes....) after over 6 months of being away. I've definitely missed it so I'll be glad to be back again.

Ciao and there will be a travel update soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The WaterfrontThe Waterfront
The Waterfront

Loon Island in the background
Our "babies"Our "babies"
Our "babies"

Sebastian and Lilo


28th August 2005

Hi sis!
Het is inderdaad leuk om weer terug te zijn! Heb je mijn kaartje nog ontvangen? Ben sinds gister weer in Groningen en het is wel weer gek. Maar heel leuk iedereen weer te zien. De BBQ was ook heel leuk. dikke zoen, Helen
10th September 2005

FALULAH!!!
So, there I was. Minding my own business, realizing that (Good Lord Almighty) I'm having a TOTAL brain fart on how the Farewell song starts. I decide, just for the hell of it, to google camp huckins farewell song and about the fourth "relevant" site on the list is some random blog. The words are obviously about Huckins, and it's obviously written by someone on staff, but I have no idea who it's from when all of a sudden, there's the name FLORA!!! I MISS YOU SO MUCH, FLO!!! I miss you SO much. And you didn't write down any of your information in my little book. I can't write to you, I can't call you, I can't do anything. But I do miss you. The second you guys were out of sight as I drove away from you I was absolutely SOBBING. Sobbing. I wonder how you three are doing in LaLaLand and I miss living with you and our stupid little messes. Okay, fine, our ridiculously huge messes. Please write to me and tell me what's going on. jclemensfox@gmail.com I love you, Flo! Big, Fat, Huckins Heart, Jenny
16th July 2010

love
i love camp huckins! sooo much fun

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb