I'm not in California anymore...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nevada
June 29th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Nevada

San Carlos through Tahoe to Lamoille Canyon in Ruby Mtns

...when they offer blackjack in a smoky truck stop along with showers and laundry! Well, that is my stop in Sparks, NV.

Driving Across Nevada



My drive across Nevada was as expected: long and barren along Highway 80. I stopped in Winnemucca for dinner at the Red Lion Hotel and moseyed on.

My One Night



After only one In-N-Out stop for fries, I ended up just southeast of Elko (on the NE corner of NV) at Lamoille Canyon in the Ruby Wilderness, billed as the Yosemite of Nevada, in the Ruby Mountains. It lived up to the billing on a smaller scale than Yosemite with a glacier-cut canyon, wildflowers, excellent hiking, and beautiful lakes. I hiked the 4 miles over the 10k foot Liberty Pass in the Ruby Wilderness and Liberty Lake, which was the striking blue of Lake Tahoe. Wish I could have backpacked there since it was so peaceful and enjoyable (though warm). Had to get moving to make it across the country in 4 weeks. Onward.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb