Travelling to Rapid City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Nebraska
June 20th 2008
Published: June 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Belleville, KansasBelleville, KansasBelleville, Kansas

Believe me this Bellville is REALLY rural
My original plan was to travel to South Dakota on I-70 through west Kansas, however there was a storm system that was heading west so I decided to go north and try to get over the top of the system. There road out of Kansas was great, I went through Belleville, Kansas and couldn’t resist taking a picture of the welcome sign and including it here—couldn’t take a picture of the town because there really wasn’t one! We think Bellville, Texas is out in the country--we are urban by comparison.
My plan was to drive north into Nebraska and the west. Everything went well until I made the left turn and started west. I can’t figure why anyone lives in Nebraska! This year in particular they have had a lot of tornadoes. My normal driving day is about 300 miles; I managed to dodge both tornado systems because I drove about 450 miles that day, more out of fright than energy! I satisfied myself that I was beyond danger at a place called Ogallala (which sounded like a Xhosa name.) The next morning was cool but beautiful and I drove into Rapid City without any more worries.
The Escapees SOLOs rally
LightLightLight

I was determined to head for that lighter sky in the distance.
started on Wednesday, June 4th but obviously I couldn’t make it for the start and had planned to get there on Saturday, but due to my LONG day was able to get there on Friday.
This group is a chapter of the Escapees RV association. All of the members are or were single when they joined the organization so it’s a comfortable environment for us all. The rally consists of a lot of social gatherings from “Mugs and Hugs” which is the open early morning coffee gatherings, group BBQ’s and shopping expeditions, and visits to local attractions. One of the events I really enjoyed was a Volksmarch up to the Crazy Horse Monument. This is a once a year opportunity, about 4 miles UP. It was absolutely fantastic and as you can see from my pictures the views were awesome. One of the other trips we went on was to Deadwood and Lead. I was there last year, but didn’t do the Tatanka Exhibit. Kevin Costner is very involved in the area and established this free exhibit. Tatanka is Sioux for Bison. The exhibit is wonderful. The word Sioux means “snake in the grass” or “slippery snake.” According to the
Parked SoloParked SoloParked Solo

At the SOLO's rally. Everyone was away so I had to back myself in for the first time
interpreter there are three different “Sioux” tribes, she was of the Lakota tribe, they are peace lovers. It was fun to be going over some of the same ground I had visited alone with a group. Incidentally, for anyone who saw my Rapid City entry in 2007, there isn’t as much money around Wild Bill’s gravesite as there was!!! Do you think he’s still gambling???
It was an activity packed four days and I really enjoyed it so it was with some regret that I pulled out this morning. BUT I will be seeing Jayne, Kevin and the girls in a couple of days and I am really looking forward to that.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Buffalo JumpBuffalo Jump
Buffalo Jump

We visited the Tatanka Exhibit in Deadwood, very, very interesting. This is a bronze sculpture of the action required in getting the buffalo to move toward a cliff so that several would be killed. The Indians used every bit of the animal.
TepeeTepee
Tepee

Apparently, the woman owned the home. Everything in it was made by her. Also I learned that the women could only wear clothes that were made from the skin of female animals
Crazy Horse 2Crazy Horse 2
Crazy Horse 2

From ground level
The hairsThe hairs
The hairs

The hairs on Crazy Horses arms are actually people
View of South DakotaView of South Dakota
View of South Dakota

From Crazy Horse's nose. He is pointing to where his people are buried.
WyomingWyoming
Wyoming

I have always loved Wyoming. It is so natural. The view of the Big Horn Mountains was outstanding, wish I could have captured it better
Grain ElevatorsGrain Elevators
Grain Elevators

Made it to Alberta. These older style elevators are in a town just over the border, they were a common sight in Alberta when we lived here, they are being replaced by medal structures that aren't nearly so attracive
Hwy 36Hwy 36
Hwy 36

Ironically I have travelled from Hwy 36 in Texas to Hwy 36 in Alberta--a slight difference in temperature however


24th June 2008

Safety first!
Mother.....I've warned you once about all this photo taking while driving! Be Careful!! Although, you do have some nice pictures! Love you!

Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb