Back tracking a little


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Red Lodge
July 29th 2015
Published: July 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


It was a glorious morning, bright sun, a gentle breeze and a cobalt sky. I was planning to head out this morning so I allowed myself about 45 min to have coffee and watch the Today show as I am really ignorant about the news. Nothing new in the news front so after coffee I started my morning chores to depart. All was done by 9:30 am, I filled up the propane tank and by 10 we were on the road.

I drove 200 miles east, much to my dismay, but I wanted to see Red Lodge and drive the Bear Tooth Pass again and see if it still looks the same. Of course, I don't remember so it will be a new experience. I'm staying in a central spot so I can do the pass one day, then Red Lodge and a new experience will be in Bear Creek. Yes, there is a Bear Creek, Montana. My campsite is along a creek that is absolutely boiling out of the mountain, rolling rocks as it goes. It is perfectly clear and the rocks in the bed are watermelon size and multicolored. It is so relaxing sitting next to it and just listening to the roar. Tonight will be a treat hearing the creek all night.

I took a few pictures along the way today. The most dramatic show was the snow on the top of the highest mountains. I passed the Elk Horn Mts, the Tobacco Root Mts, the Bridger Range, the Crazy Mountains, The Gallatin Range and the Absaroka Range. Any peak over 9 or 10,000 ft had snow and they just stood out in the bleak landscape.

Again there are mostly farms and cattle grazing. There are fields of hay, just cut and bailed, corn, potatoes and grain. All the cows have calfs that are getting bigger every day and enjoying the freedom of free range.

I had a lovely relaxing evening in my lounge chair with a cocktail and Wisconsin cheese listening to and watching the creek go by.

My evening shower was a delight and I'm ready for bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb