Another great day! Darby to Mizzoula. 66/ 3326 total


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Missoula
July 30th 2018
Published: July 31st 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Wild Turkeys.Wild Turkeys.Wild Turkeys.

I was only able to catch the last two of a whole flock.
Another great day on a bike!

We woke up early and broke camp with enthusiasm.

Pat , Becky and I were on the road about 7:10 and as per the last week we had very little wind to contend with.

The route from Darby to Missoula is basically downhill and we were able to make great time.

We covered 66 miles in about 4 hours and 40 minutes which is one of the fastest of my tour.

The serendipity is that we were able to ride on a bike path for the last 48 miles which really made for an enjoyable day.

Although the scenery was very pretty, it was very similar to the last few days in the Bitterroot Valley.

Once arriving in Missoula, we went to the Mecca of bicycle touring, Adventure Cycling Headquarters.

After signing in and getting our picture taken, we went to the riders lounge where one can get a soda, fruit drinks and an ice cream bar.

The receptionist gave us a tour of the facility and treated us like celebritys.

It was pretty cool to be there.

The saddest part of the day was having to say goodbye to Pat, Becky and Jane who were so welcoming and great to be around for the last two weeks.

As I mentioned earlier, Pat is heading northwest towards Anacordes Washington, and I am heading southwest towards Florence Oregon.

The good news for me is that Bruce Tipton flew in today and we had a reunion at the Holiday Inn in Missoula.

Tomorrow we wil do a tour of Missoula which seems like a great town.

Then Wednesday we head into Idaho.

Now it’s time for another pitch for Project Hero.

They do a fantastic job helping injured first responders and veterans recover from their afflictions.

I set what I believe to be a very achievable goal to help them achieve necessary funds to reach out to more in need.

I’m about 70% there but still need help in completing my goal.

If you have given, ( and many have), I am very grateful for your generosity.

For those on the fence, please help us out. Any amount is appreciated.

To give, copy and paste this into your browser:

http://r2r.convio.net/coast2coast

A sincere Thank You



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Log home in process.Log home in process.
Log home in process.

There are lots of Log Homes here! I love the look. This is a log home builder in action,


31st July 2018

Doin' the downhill
Bob, I'm glad you got a chance to use gravity to your advantage and hopefully the winds will be favorable as you make your way into Oregon country. Roll on!! John
1st August 2018

Thanks
John, I’m so glad you are enjoying my blog. Comments like yours really make my day!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1mb