After Hardin; Hello Sundance WY


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Hardin
September 7th 2009
Published: September 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hardin KOA CampsiteHardin KOA CampsiteHardin KOA Campsite

This is the campsite in Hardin. You can see the gathering windstorm preparing to storm through.
Day 8. Monday September 7, 2009

The photo is of our campsite in Hardin, before the wind storm arrived.

I was jawing with an older couple from Canada. The sharp eyed woman reached in her RV and pushed a button to close her awning. Right after it was closed and stowed, a gust of wind tore the awning from the Class A RV two slots down, where it fluttered atop the roof.

Fortunately, I had rolled our awning up and stowed it about an hour before.

That wind storm whipped through with alacrity, and lasted most of the night. It was strong enough to put out the flame in my grill. So, we had to finish off the chicken in the microwave. Yep; Uncle Joe has a m’wave, which we can use when plugged into a 50 amp power pedestal.

We broke camp this morning after three nights at the Hardin KOA.

I’m writing this update from our new location in Sundance, Wyoming. What a beautiful drive we enjoyed today. You wouldn’t call Wyoming the Evergreen State, but the open views have a stark beauty. Montana is Big Sky country. Wyoming has some Long View. Is this the west of Louie L’Amour?

In the last hour of our journey today, we spied on the horizon “the Tower;” Devils Tower, which we will visit on a day trip tomorry. Maybe we will get a photo or more.

Ok, color me vain? I’m learning how to use my travel blog to send updates to folk I think might be interested in our trips. I’ve learned how to add email addresses of friends and family to my blog so that (you) they will get an email notice whenever I add a new posting to the blog.

You may be able to decline receiving updates. If you can’t decline, or if you don’t want to receive such an email, let me know and I’ll figure out how to get you off the distribution list. I hope you will stay with me, because the best is still yet to come.

Paddy



Advertisement



7th September 2009

Tower Power
glad you figured out how to keep us all updated! I would not have guessed you were in Wyoming, but not surprised. Sounds like an adventure to me. There's power in that tower, Patrick. Do a little jig on it for me. -Lisa
8th September 2009

Beauty
Hip, hip! It's good to hear from you. Can't wait to see more photos! Love you both and your little dog, too!
8th September 2009

Your trip
Paddy, I am not sure if you will receive, but I thought I would give it a try. So glad your trip is going well and you are seeing some beautiful country. It will be great to get an update of your trip. Love, aunt Livvie
8th September 2009

following your adventure
Hey Paddy, enjoying your adventures. We had some storms and record rain fall this labor weekend and we were out in the middle of it warm and cozy on Clara June!! Coming back in to Oly from Hope Island we must of had 35 knot winds and horizontal rainfall! Made it in safe and sound and spent another night at the dock!! Keep us posted on your travel blog. Miss you guys, Ada
8th September 2009

Travel Gods
Sounds like the travel gods are with you. Be safe and have fun

Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0864s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb