Days 3-6


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana » Gardiner
July 2nd 2009
Published: July 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

We did not have internet service in Glacier National Park the past two days so unfortunately I couldn't post anything. We are currently in Gardiner, Montana, just outside Yellowstone National Park. We spent Monday driving about 500 miles from Billings to Glacier. Monday we explored Glacier and drove the Highway to the Sun. Today we drove about 500 miles from Glacier down to Yellowstone National Park and we spent a few hours this evening driving around the park. Tomorrow we are spending the day in Yellowstone. I'm going to keep this short because it is late and I still have to post photos so I will allow the photos do the talking for me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Snow CapsSnow Caps
Snow Caps

Driving on the Going to the Sun Highway
WildflowersWildflowers
Wildflowers

There was a fire at GNP a few years ago and there were a bunch of wildflowers growing in the underbrush where the trees had been killed
Mountain GoatMountain Goat
Mountain Goat

So close I could have almost pet it
Jackson GlacierJackson Glacier
Jackson Glacier

The only glacier we got to see and one of only 26 remaining in the park
Dad at the North Entrance to YellowstoneDad at the North Entrance to Yellowstone
Dad at the North Entrance to Yellowstone

He is certainly benefitting from and enjoying this photo op
More wildflowersMore wildflowers
More wildflowers

I especially like this one
Mammoth Hot Springs2Mammoth Hot Springs2
Mammoth Hot Springs2

With the thunderstorm in the background
GeyserGeyser
Geyser

This geyses has an eruption larger than any other geyser in the world, approximately 300-400 feet high
Bison in the roadBison in the road
Bison in the road

There were 6 of them walking down the road and they caused quite a traffic jam


4th July 2009

Hi Brian, It sounds like you and your dad are having a great time. By the way say hi for me. I just wanted to let you know someone is reading your blogs besides your mother and enjoying them. It's nice how I can travel all over with you and never leave my house. I'll look forward to your next posting. Aunt Eileen

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb