Packing and Pre-Planning


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Missouri » Troy
June 27th 2012
Published: July 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

So just got back late this afternoon from our campground after another great weekend with our Dogwood family....love you guys...you all know who you are! 😊 I'm gonna miss you all! I'm gonna miss everyone! It's a long time to be away....not that I'm not excited and really looking forward to the trip, but it still tugs at the heart strings a bit. Now it's getting down to the nitty gritty and trying to wrap up any lose ends...oh and pack. lol

But who knew that the planning required in order to be out of the country for nearly a month was so intensive! My brain's on overload and I'm sure I'll forget something important. But phones are changed for international, bills are paid for a month, supplies of cat and dog food on hand (must place strategic reminders that it doesn't magically fill a bowl on its own!) vet checkups done, insurance cards, travel insurance, emergency contacts, and trying to listen to an introductory Italian CD when I can (Capisco un po 'd'itailiano...meaning my conversation would be brief.....something along the lines of, "hello....I understand a little Italian"...not sure how far that will really get me lol) ....but that's just for the home side of things!

For the Europe side, it's an even crazier list! With all our destinations and the limited amount of time available, I had to figure out every one of our routes, times and means of transport to and from airports/train stations/hotels and back in advance.....so we have a combination of flights, trains, bus, taxi, water taxi, and hoofing it 1.8 miles with 30+ pound backpacks through the streets of Milan. I'm thinking maybe two hours in advance and stopping for an espresso and a sweet italian pastry halfway might give me the necessary sustenance. 😊 In addition, each of our tours (and we have several planned) all have particular departure points that I had to locate and find the route to.....a logistical nightmare (BIG headache) all in all. lol

So with all of our maps, confirmations, boarding passes, passports, I'll be carrying an extra four pounds of paper...and I'm not sure that's even much of an exaggeration. You would think in our wireless technical age, we wouldn't need so much paper, but that doesn't appear to be the case in Europe. Just about everything says "bring this confirmation" and a few things still require a call 24 hours in advance to confirm.....I hope I don't forget one of those!

With all of that, I'm trying to keep a limit of two bags. One carry on and one checked bag. Carry on will be limited to my camera gear, pc, a change of clothes, makeup, the four pounds of paper, and a European converter for too many chargers that must also go along. The big backpack....clothes and shoes for 25 days....60 degree highs to 90 degree highs.....wow, I'm not even sure where to start with that one. All in all, my checked bags can't be more than 44 pounds without fees and I'm hoping it comes in way under that anyways (or that one italian pastry just might not be enough!).

Wish me luck!

Advertisement



2nd July 2012

Ahhh, the dreaded packing. Good luck!
2nd July 2012

Strange.....
okay, this is really weird because it looks like I replied to my post and I didn't! I think if you are a subscriber only and haven't actually created an account, any responses will show up as my own posts maybe? I'm not really sure. So if anyone comments, would you mind just adding your first name at the end of your post? Thanks! Then I don't look quite so desperate as to have to reply to my own posts. lol
2nd July 2012

Stranger still...
that I just made the previous post and it shows up as anonymous (because I had forgotten to sign in)....soooooo, it seems subscribers should show up as anonymous unless they set up an account, so I'm really clueless as to how the other post showed up under my own name. At any rate, maybe the name at the end will work best either way.
2nd July 2012

Dying of envy
Dana & Kirk, Since I will be living vicariously through you for the next month I can tell you I have butterflies!!! So excited! And scared to death about losing the 4 pounds of paper...I would probably be taking a picture of every page! Dana, I can't wait to see all the beautiful photos! Have a wonderful time!! Kelly
2nd July 2012

Thanks, Kelly!! :) I wish there was some way we could just take everyone along....wouldn't that be a trip, huh?? lol I'll post as much as I can with whatever access I can find. Thank goodness for technology these days otherwise, I'm not sure I could do it and be gone that long!
3rd July 2012

Good luck and have tons of fun. Looking forward to traveling through Europe vicariously. Laurie
3rd July 2012

Your trip
Sheeze !!!!

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb