Fullerton Lake, La to Rocky Springs Campground, Natchez Trace


Advertisement
Published: May 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post


May 11, 2011 Wednesday
Got up early and headed out. As it is my practice when I camp out to reload everything back into the truck at night before I go to bed it didn't take long to be on the road again. I do this so as to not be woke up in the middle of the night by some critter rummaging through my stuff left out and have to deal with it. Also in the unlikely event of a "situation" developing I can crank up the truck and leave at once.
I headed back East on La10 to Opelousas and then East on 190 to Baton Rouge. At Baton Route I headed North on the "scenic route" Hwy 61 to Nachez. It was a bad choice. Miles and miles of road construction with only one lane open that is shared in turns by north and south traffic. I would have done better to go up through Alexandria and on 84 to Natchez.
When I got to Natchez I explored it a bit and went by the visitor center to use their wireless internet connection. Then I looked at the river a bit which didn't look to be flooding
any to me. After a bit I started up the Natchez Trace towards my chosen campground of Rocky Springs just off the trace at MP 54.8. The price was right since it was free. I only hoped it wouldn't be full.
I intended to go up the trace to Rocky Springs and then over to Vicksburg on Hwy 27. After checking out Vicksburg I was going to head East to Jackson and then back up the trace towards Corinth and Shiloh battlefields.
I arrived at Rocky Springs campground around 5PM and was surprised and pleased to find it was not crowded and I picked a good spot near the restrooms but not so close as to have people trooping by on their way to it all the time.
It was very hot and humid and I was glad when night came although it didn't cool off much and the mosquitoes came out.
I was planning on going North up the Trace to Hwy 27 and then taking it Northwest into Vicksburg the next morning.
I have traveled 563 miles so far on this trip. As expected the biggest expense has been Gas.





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Campsite Rocky SpringsCampsite Rocky Springs
Campsite Rocky Springs

Campsite Rocky Springs off the Natchez Trace- Free


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb