Final thoughts


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Mississippi » Biloxi
September 28th 2008
Published: September 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Just wanted to add a few more thoughts/reflections on what has to be one of the most memorable weeks of my life. I can't speak for the team today because I'm no longer with them, but based on the comments throughout the week, I think many of us had similar feelings to all that we experienced.

As I wrote yesterday's blog, all I could think is how do I ever put into words all that we experienced this week. I know I've kept you up on the factual stuff of the projects we did this week and the joy of seeing a foundation become a house, but it's been difficult to describe the feeling involved with it. The blisters, the scrapes, the sore joints--they all pale in comparison to the difference this is going to make to whomever is the recipient of this home; they all pale in comparison to what this family endured during Hurricane Katrina and the days, weeks and perhaps even the years that followed it.

At what point does a house become a home? Before going to Biloxi this week, and actually being a part of such a special build, I probably would have told you it was when the homeowner moved in because it's the family and the dynamics there that make it a home. But I'm not sure anymore. That wasn't just a house we were buidling--it is someone's dream, someone's future, perhaps the one factor that can give them the better life they are hungering for. It is a home.

The end of the workday Friday was very difficult for us. Similar to many of our team meetings throughout the week, no one seemed to want to leave. Some sat, others stood and all of us, at some point, walked through all the rooms of the house. I can't speak for the others, but I know I thought about--and prayed for--the family that would live here. I prayed they would find peace and comfort here; that this is the new beginning they need. As each day on the build site started with prayer, this one also ended in prayer for the family and for us as we traveled back. It goes without saying that every one of us would have showed up at the site on Saturday morning--and next week--if we could have. We would have finished those final nails in the sheeting. We would have finished the roof trusses. And we would have done any other jobs Bryce could have thrown our way.

I, for one, am a changed person from my week in Biloxi. I'm not quite sure yet what that means, but I do know I look forward to future trips, future opportunities to make a difference in the life of someone who needs it. And I hope it's something I can share with those around me, especially those who haven't had the chance to experience a build trip like this.

But whether it's a Thrivent Builds Worldwide trip, or a local Thrivent Builds project in your local community, it all makes a difference. I'm proud to work for an organization that not just allows us--members, employees and others--but encourages us to put others first, to see to the needs of those around us. I've been on the receiving end of that generosity, and it's with great pleasure that I give back.

Team Biloxi--it was a fabulous week with all of you. Thanks for the memories!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb